South Plains College radiography program: pass rate, jobs and local pay
An AAS program in Lubbock, 22 consecutive months (AAS). 64 of its 71 graduates passed the ARRT exam on the first try over 2021-2025.
The short version
- Its ARRT exam rate (90.1%) is below the Texas program median of 92.6%.
- 98.6% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by JRCERT's measure.
- 93.3% of students who started finished the program.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How graduates do
JRCERT requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3
| Year | Passed | Took the exam | Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 12 | 14 | 85.7% |
| 2024 | 11 | 12 | 91.7% |
| 2023 | 14 | 16 | 87.5% |
| 2022 | 12 | 14 | 85.7% |
| 2021 | 15 | 15 | 100% |
Graduates who passed the ARRT radiography exam on the first attempt within six months of graduating, divided by those who took it. JRCERT requires programs to report a five-year average and sets a 75% benchmark. Job placement: graduates employed in the radiologic sciences within 12 months, divided by those actively seeking work there.
What it costs
South Plains College does not publish a total cost for this program. South Plains lists extra costs (background check, scrubs, books) but prices only the $40 background check and gives no program total. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 15 Texas radiography programs that publish a cost range from $4,736 to $54,361, with a median of $9,639.
What radiologic technologists earn around Lubbock
The median yearly wage for radiologic technologists in the Lubbock metro area is $67,110. 2 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.
Other radiography programs in the Lubbock area
| Program | ARRT exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| South Plains College (this page) AAS, Lubbock | 90.1% | 98.6% | Not published |
| Covenant School of Radiography Certificate, Lubbock | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
Program facts
- Credential
- AAS
- Length
- 22 consecutive months (AAS)
- Schedule
- In-person classes at the SPC Reese Center with clinical rotations at Lubbock-area hospitals and clinics
- Starts
- Fall only; apply June 1 to July 9
- Before you apply
- Finish Anatomy and Physiology I and II and College Algebra (or higher math) with a C or better.
- Accreditation
- JRCERT, Accredited, 3-year award (2023)
- Leads to
- ARRT radiography certification exam
Sources and dates
- South Plains College program outcomes page, 2025 PED (no as-of date); completion is 2025 (14 of 15).
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Radiologic Technologists and Technicians (29-2034), May 2025 estimates.
- Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT), checked Nov. 2026.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRCERT. Our independence policy