Texas respiratory therapy programs: who passes, who gets hired, and what it costs
Respiratory therapists treat patients with breathing and heart-lung problems, from premature babies to ICU patients on ventilators. Texas programs are mostly two-year associate degrees, plus some bachelor's degrees, and lead to the NBRC credentialing exams and a Texas license. Below is every CoARC-accredited program in Texas we could confirm, with the outcomes each one reports. Data checked Nov. 4, 2026.
Every program, highest RRT credential rate first
Rates are multi-year averages as each program reports them to CoARC, so small programs are not swung by one class. Tap a program for its cost, job placement and sources.
| Program | RRT credential rate | Job placement | Completion | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Temple College AAS, Temple | 97.1% | 97.1% | Not reported | Not published |
| Weatherford College AAS, Weatherford | 96.8% | 93.7% | Not reported | $12,665 |
| Victoria College AAS, Victoria | 96.6% | 100% | Not reported | Not published |
| Collin College AAS, McKinney | 96.2% | 98.1% | Not reported | $6,309 to $6,539 |
| Houston City College AAS, Houston | 93.3% | 96.7% | Not reported | Not published |
| Tarrant County College, Trinity River East AAS, Fort Worth | 92.7% | 95.1% | Not reported | $7,041 |
| UTMB MS, Galveston | 90.3% | 100% | Not reported | $32,594 |
| McLennan Community College AAS, Waco | 89.1% | 95.7% | Not reported | $9,419 to $10,607 |
| Midwestern State University BS, Wichita Falls | 87.5% | 97.9% | Not reported | Not published |
| Dallas College, El Centro AAS, Dallas | 85.3% | 100% | Not reported | $5,940 |
| Lone Star College, Kingwood AAS, Kingwood | 84.3% | 93.1% | Not reported | $9,487 |
| Midland College AAS, Midland | 81.5% | 81.5% | Not reported | $10,000 |
| South Texas College AAS, McAllen | 80.9% | 89.4% | Not reported | Not published |
| UT Health San Antonio MS, San Antonio | 79.2% | 86.7% | Not reported | $42,330 to $82,530 |
| Texas State University, Round Rock BS, Round Rock | 78.8% | 86.4% | Not reported | $25,642 to $50,431 |
| Amarillo College AAS, Amarillo | 77.3% | 90.9% | Not reported | $11,937 |
| UT Health San Antonio BS, San Antonio | 76.9% | 92.3% | Not reported | $28,025 to $55,419 |
| Concorde Career College, San Antonio AAS, San Antonio | 69.1% | 92.6% | Not reported | Not published |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston AAS, Houston | 66.7% | 83.3% | Not reported | $54,358 |
| Del Mar College AAS, Corpus Christi | 65.9% | 79.5% | Not reported | Not published |
| South Plains College, Reese Center AAS, Lubbock | 65.2% | 76.1% | Not reported | Not published |
| Alvin Community College AAS, Alvin | 63.9% | 83.3% | Not reported | $8,441 to $11,549 |
| Texas Southmost College AAS, Brownsville | 62.1% | 96.6% | Not reported | Not published |
| Tyler Junior College AAS, Tyler | 60.5% | 81.6% | Not reported | Not published |
| St. Philip's College AAS, San Antonio | 56.2% | 76.7% | Not reported | Not published |
| Concorde Career College, Dallas AAS, Dallas | 56.1% | 72.7% | Not reported | Not published |
| San Jacinto College, Central AAS, Pasadena | 54.5% | 53.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Lamar Institute of Technology AAS, Beaumont | 50.9% | 61.8% | Not reported | Not published |
| Howard College, San Angelo AAS, San Angelo | 50.0% | 80.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Angelina College AAS, Lufkin | 47.1% | 64.7% | Not reported | Not published |
| El Paso Community College AAS, El Paso | 46.8% | 70.2% | Not reported | Not published |
| Texas Southern University BS, Houston | 35.0% | 55.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Odessa College AAS, Odessa | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $6,732 |
By area
Houston area (7)
- Houston City College: 93.3%
- UTMB: 90.3%
- Lone Star College, Kingwood: 84.3%
- Pima Medical Institute, Houston: 66.7%
- Alvin Community College: 63.9%
- San Jacinto College, Central: 54.5%
- Texas Southern University: 35.0%
San Antonio area (4)
- UT Health San Antonio: 79.2%
- UT Health San Antonio: 76.9%
- Concorde Career College, San Antonio: 69.1%
- St. Philip's College: 56.2%
Dallas area (3)
- Collin College: 96.2%
- Dallas College, El Centro: 85.3%
- Concorde Career College, Dallas: 56.1%
Fort Worth area (2)
Midland-Odessa area (2)
Rio Grande Valley area (2)
- South Texas College: 80.9%
- Texas Southmost College: 62.1%
Amarillo area (1)
- Amarillo College: 77.3%
Austin area (1)
Beaumont-Port Arthur area (1)
Corpus Christi area (1)
- Del Mar College: 65.9%
El Paso area (1)
- El Paso Community College: 46.8%
Killeen-Temple area (1)
- Temple College: 97.1%
Lubbock area (1)
Lufkin-Nacogdoches area (1)
- Angelina College: 47.1%
San Angelo area (1)
- Howard College, San Angelo: 50.0%
Tyler-Longview area (1)
- Tyler Junior College: 60.5%
Victoria area (1)
- Victoria College: 96.6%
Waco area (1)
- McLennan Community College: 89.1%
Wichita Falls area (1)
- Midwestern State University: 87.5%
How to read these numbers
Graduates who earned the Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) credential, divided by all graduates, as reported to CoARC for a three-year period.
Job placement: graduates employed in respiratory care (or continuing their education) within the CoARC reporting period, divided by graduates surveyed. Costs are each school's own published estimate; programs that only list per-credit tuition show "Not published". How we get our numbers