Texas radiography programs: who passes, who gets hired, and what it costs
Radiologic technologists (radiographers, or X-ray techs) take diagnostic images. Most Texas programs are two-year associate degrees or hospital certificates and lead to the ARRT certification exam and a Texas Medical Board license. Below is every JRCERT-accredited program in Texas we could confirm, with the outcomes each one reports. Data checked Nov. 4, 2026.
Every program, highest ARRT exam rate first
Rates are multi-year averages as each program reports them to JRCERT, so small programs are not swung by one class. Tap a program for its cost, job placement and sources.
| Program | ARRT exam rate | Job placement | Completion | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Howard College, San Angelo AAS, San Angelo | 100% | 100% | 100% | Not published |
| Lone Star College, CyFair AAS, Cypress | 98.0% | 100% | Not reported | Not published |
| Lone Star College, Montgomery AAS, Conroe | 98.0% | 98.0% | 100% | Not published |
| Tyler Junior College AAS, Tyler | 98.0% | 100% | 88.0% | Not published |
| Tarrant County College, Trinity River East AAS, Fort Worth | 97.4% | 95.7% | Not reported | $4,736 |
| San Jacinto College, Central AAS, Pasadena | 96.3% | 100% | 96.2% | $7,917 to $11,821 |
| Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas School of Radiologic Technology AAS, Beaumont | 95.3% | 96.4% | 89.4% | $14,235 to $14,735 |
| Houston City College AAS, Houston | 95.0% | 98.8% | 87.8% | Not published |
| Del Mar College AAS, Corpus Christi | 94.4% | 100% | 93.0% | Not published |
| Angelina College AAS, Lufkin | 94.2% | 100% | 90.5% | $9,896 to $13,416 |
| McLennan Community College AAS, Waco | 93.8% | 100% | 90.0% | Not published |
| Blinn College, Bryan AAS, Bryan | 93.7% | 100% | 100% | Not published |
| Dallas College, Brookhaven AAS, Farmers Branch | 93.1% | 97.0% | 80.2% | Not published |
| MD Anderson School of Health Professions Certificate, Houston | 92.9% | 100% | 100% | Not published |
| Amarillo College AAS, Amarillo | 92.6% | 97.2% | 91.3% | $9,639 to $12,649 |
| Weatherford College AAS, Weatherford | 92.0% | 99.0% | 95.0% | $15,675 to $20,520 |
| North Central Texas College AAS, Gainesville | 90.4% | 100% | 100% | Not published |
| South Plains College AAS, Lubbock | 90.1% | 98.6% | 93.3% | Not published |
| Galveston College AAS, Galveston | 87.4% | 100% | 86.4% | $7,000 to $8,500 |
| Hendrick Health School of Radiography Certificate, Abilene | 87.1% | 100% | 94.4% | $6,632 |
| Midwestern State University BS, Wichita Falls | 86.8% | 86.2% | 90.4% | Not published |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston AAS, Houston | 85.8% | 95.1% | 89.6% | $49,971 |
| St. Philip's College AAS, San Antonio | 84.4% | 100% | 90.2% | Not published |
| Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging Certificate, Bellaire | 79.8% | 93.8% | 84.6% | $4,950 |
| Lamar Institute of Technology AAS, Beaumont | 79.7% | 100% | 78.9% | Not published |
| Southwest University at El Paso AAS, El Paso | 78.9% | 97.6% | 87.9% | Not published |
| Paris Junior College AAS, Paris | 73.3% | 90.0% | 100% | Not published |
| Laredo College, South AAS, Laredo | 73.0% | 97.8% | 83.3% | Not published |
| Pima Medical Institute, El Paso AAS, El Paso | 61.9% | 89.3% | 70.5% | $49,971 |
| Austin Community College, Eastview AAS, Austin | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Baptist Health System School of Health Professions AAS, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Coastal Bend College AAS, Beeville | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $6,852 |
| College of the Mainland AAS, Texas City | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $6,919 |
| Covenant School of Radiography Certificate, Lubbock | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| El Paso Community College, Rio Grande AAS, El Paso | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Odessa College AAS, Odessa | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Pima Medical Institute, San Antonio Associate Degree, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $49,971 |
| UT Health San Antonio MS, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $54,361 to $98,300 |
| Wharton County Junior College AAS, Wharton | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
1 program reports a 100% rate with at least 20 graduates in the period.
By area
Houston area (10)
- Lone Star College, CyFair: 98.0%
- Lone Star College, Montgomery: 98.0%
- San Jacinto College, Central: 96.3%
- Houston City College: 95.0%
- MD Anderson School of Health Professions: 92.9%
- Galveston College: 87.4%
- Pima Medical Institute, Houston: 85.8%
- Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging: 79.8%
- College of the Mainland
- Wharton County Junior College
San Antonio area (4)
- St. Philip's College: 84.4%
- Baptist Health System School of Health Professions
- Pima Medical Institute, San Antonio
- UT Health San Antonio
El Paso area (3)
- Southwest University at El Paso: 78.9%
- Pima Medical Institute, El Paso: 61.9%
- El Paso Community College, Rio Grande
Fort Worth area (3)
- Tarrant County College, Trinity River East: 97.4%
- Weatherford College: 92.0%
- North Central Texas College: 90.4%
Beaumont-Port Arthur area (2)
- Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas School of Radiologic Technology: 95.3%
- Lamar Institute of Technology: 79.7%
Corpus Christi area (2)
Lubbock area (2)
Abilene area (1)
Amarillo area (1)
- Amarillo College: 92.6%
Austin area (1)
Bryan-College Station area (1)
- Blinn College, Bryan: 93.7%
Dallas area (1)
- Dallas College, Brookhaven: 93.1%
Laredo area (1)
- Laredo College, South: 73.0%
Lufkin-Nacogdoches area (1)
- Angelina College: 94.2%
Midland-Odessa area (1)
San Angelo area (1)
Sherman-Denison area (1)
- Paris Junior College: 73.3%
Tyler-Longview area (1)
- Tyler Junior College: 98.0%
Waco area (1)
- McLennan Community College: 93.8%
Wichita Falls area (1)
- Midwestern State University: 86.8%
How to read these numbers
Graduates who passed the ARRT radiography exam on the first attempt within six months of graduating, divided by those who took it. JRCERT requires programs to report a five-year average and sets a 75% benchmark.
Job placement: graduates employed in the radiologic sciences within 12 months, divided by those actively seeking work there. Costs are each school's own published estimate; programs that only list per-credit tuition show "Not published". How we get our numbers