College of the Mainland radiography program costs $6,919. Here is how its graduates do.
An AAS program in Texas City, 2 years (5 semesters).
We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.
The short version
- Its published cost is at or below the median for Texas radiography programs that publish one ($9,639).
- At 10% of the local median wage for radiologic technologists, the program cost is paid back in about 0.9 years.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How graduates do
JRCERT requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3
Graduates who passed the ARRT radiography exam on the first attempt within six months of graduating, divided by those who took it. JRCERT requires programs to report a five-year average and sets a 75% benchmark. Job placement: graduates employed in the radiologic sciences within 12 months, divided by those actively seeking work there.
Where the money goes
About half of every dollar goes to in-district tuition. Excludes ARRT exam (about $225), Texas license (about $80), jurisprudence exam (about $34) and clinical site onboarding fees.
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| In-district tuition | $3,465 |
| Professional liability insurance | $75 |
| Uniforms (2 sets) | $150 |
| Patches | $30 |
| Textbooks (entire program) | $1,700 |
| Positional markers | $80 |
| Background and drug screening | $79 |
| Immunization and competency tracking | $500 |
| Offsite parking | $300 |
| Immunizations and physical | $100 |
| Radiation badges | $400 |
| ASRT student membership | $40 |
| Total 1 | $6,919 |
Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. Information packet dated 6/1/2025, in-district.
What radiologic technologists earn around Houston
The median yearly wage for radiologic technologists in the Houston metro area is $80,780. 2 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.
Other radiography programs in the Houston area
| Program | ARRT exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lone Star College, CyFair AAS, Cypress | 98.0% | 100% | Not published |
| Lone Star College, Montgomery AAS, Conroe | 98.0% | 98.0% | Not published |
| San Jacinto College, Central AAS, Pasadena | 96.3% | 100% | $7,917 to $11,821 |
| Houston City College AAS, Houston | 95.0% | 98.8% | Not published |
| MD Anderson School of Health Professions Certificate, Houston | 92.9% | 100% | Not published |
| Galveston College AAS, Galveston | 87.4% | 100% | $7,000 to $8,500 |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston AAS, Houston | 85.8% | 95.1% | $49,971 |
| Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging Certificate, Bellaire | 79.8% | 93.8% | $4,950 |
| College of the Mainland (this page) AAS, Texas City | Not reported | Not reported | $6,919 |
| Wharton County Junior College AAS, Wharton | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
Program facts
- Credential
- AAS
- Length
- 2 years (5 semesters)
- Starts
- August
- Before you apply
- ENGL 1301, BIOL 2401, BIOL 2402 and MATH 1314 or higher, each with a C or better.
- Entrance exam
- HESI A2, 75% minimum in each section
- Accreditation
- JRCERT, Accredited (per the school's 2025 information packet; not confirmed on JRCERT)
- Leads to
- ARRT radiography certification exam
Sources and dates
- College of the Mainland 2025 RT Information Packet, Information packet dated 6/1/2025, in-district.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Radiologic Technologists and Technicians (29-2034), May 2025 estimates.
- Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT), checked Nov. 2026.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRCERT. Our independence policy