Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Dallas College, Mountain View OTA program costs $5,940. Here is how its graduates do.

An AAS program in Dallas, 2 years full time (four semesters, about 35 hours a week). 50.0% of its graduates passed the NBCOT COTA exam in 2025.

Occupational therapy assistant · AAS · Dallas, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Total cost
$5,940*
School estimate 1
NBCOT pass rate
50.0%
2025 2
Job placement
Payback time
0.7 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$81,170
Median, Dallas 3

The short version

  • Its NBCOT COTA exam rate (50.0%) is below the Texas program median of 92.0%.
  • 100% of students who started finished the program.
  • Its published cost is at or below the median for Texas OTA programs that publish one ($11,003).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for occupational therapy assistants, the program cost is paid back in about 0.7 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

ACOTE requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 4

50.0%
New graduates who passed the NBCOT COTA exam, 2025
?
Job placement
100%
Program completion
92.0%
Median of 17 Texas programs
YearNBCOT pass rate
202550.0%
202480.0%
202375.0%

New graduates who passed the NBCOT COTA certification exam, divided by new graduates who took it, as NBCOT or the program reports it. Job placement: graduates employed as occupational therapy assistants, as the program reports it.

Where the money goes

The school's estimate. Page says most required learning materials are included in tuition but some programs have extra costs.

ItemCost
Estimated total tuition, in-county$5,940
Total 1$5,940

* How we calculated this: Tuition only; fees, supplies and exam costs not included.

Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. Estimated total tuition, in-county (page updated Sept 8, 2026).

What occupational therapy assistants earn around Dallas

The median yearly wage for occupational therapy assistants in the Dallas metro area is $81,170. 3 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other OTA programs in the Dallas area

Compare all 2 OTA programs in the Dallas area

ProgramNBCOT COTA exam rateJob placementCost
Navarro College
AAS, Corsicana
100%Not reported$8,801
Dallas College, Mountain View (this page)
AAS, Dallas
50.0%Not reported$5,940

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas requires an OTA license issued by the Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners. Applicants must pass the NBCOT COTA exam (score sent by NBCOT directly to the Board), pass the Texas jurisprudence exam, and complete fingerprinting.

StepFee
Apply to NBCOT and pass the COTA certification exam.5$540
Apply to the Texas OT Board for an OTA license by exam.6$100
Pass the 20-question open-book online jurisprudence exam.7Free
Have NBCOT send the passing score to the Board, send a photo, and complete fingerprinting after applying (SSN required from Sept 1, 2026).8Not published
Optional: request a temporary license if taking the NBCOT exam for the first time.9$55not counted

Typical fees to start working: $640. Counts the NBCOT exam ($540) and the Texas OTA application ($100). Fingerprinting is extra. Texas OTA licenses renew every two years by the end of the birth month with at least 24 contact hours of CE including a human trafficking course; NBCOT certification renews every three years with 36 units ($65 online). Full guide: how to become an occupational therapy assistant in Texas

With Dallas College's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $6,580, before prerequisites and living costs.

Program facts

Credential
AAS
Length
2 years full time (four semesters, about 35 hours a week)
Schedule
In person, full time
Before you apply
The program page says prerequisites may be required but does not list them.
Accreditation
ACOTE, Accredited (ACOTE)
Leads to
NBCOT COTA certification exam and a Texas license
Visit Dallas College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. Dallas College Occupational Therapy Assistant program page, Estimated total tuition, in-county (page updated Sept 8, 2026).
  2. Dallas College, Mountain View program outcomes page, NBCOT School Performance Data, checked Nov. 5, 2026; graduation rate from the program's page (2023 to 2025).
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Occupational Therapy Assistants (31-2011), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE), checked Nov. 2026.
  5. NBCOT Fees, checked Nov 2026.
  6. Texas OT Board, Initial Licensure General Information (2026), Document dated 2026.
  7. Texas OT Board, OT Application, checked Nov 2026.
  8. Texas OT Board, OT Application, checked Nov 2026.
  9. Texas OT Board, Initial Licensure General Information (2026), Document dated 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or ACOTE. Our independence policy