Texas PTA programs: who passes, who gets hired, and what it costs
Physical therapist assistants help patients recover movement and strength under a physical therapist. Texas programs are about two-year associate degrees and lead to the NPTE-PTA exam and a Texas license. Below is every CAPTE-accredited program in Texas we could confirm, with the outcomes each one reports. Data checked Nov. 4, 2026.
Every program, highest NPTE-PTA rate first
Rates are multi-year averages as each program reports them to CAPTE, so small programs are not swung by one class. Tap a program for its cost, job placement and sources.
| Program | NPTE-PTA rate | Job placement | Completion | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Community College, Eastview AAS, Austin | 100% | 100% | 80.0% | Not published |
| Collin College, Frisco AAS, Frisco | 100% | 100% | 88.0% | $6,955 |
| Northeast Texas Community College AAS, Mount Pleasant | 100% | 100% | 72.0% | $10,430 |
| Odessa College AAS, Odessa | 100% | 100% | 77.0% | $10,143 |
| South Texas College AAS, McAllen | 100% | 100% | 79.0% | $13,961 |
| Victoria College AAS, Victoria | 100% | 100% | 95.0% | $12,834 |
| Tyler Junior College AAS, Tyler | 96.7% | 100% | 88.0% | Not published |
| Lone Star College, Montgomery AAS, Conroe | 96.1% | 100% | 85.0% | Not published |
| Blinn College, RELLIS AAS, Bryan | 96.0% | 100% | 90.9% | $10,477 |
| Laredo College AAS, Laredo | 96.0% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Tarrant County College, Trinity River East AAS, Fort Worth | 95.2% | 100% | 89.4% | $9,501 |
| Western Technical College AAS, El Paso | 94.3% | 100% | 75.2% | $45,845 |
| Houston City College AAS, Houston | 92.2% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| San Jacinto College, South AAS, Houston | 90.6% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Concorde Career College, San Antonio AAS, San Antonio | 90.4% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Navarro College, Midlothian AAS, Midlothian | 88.2% | 100% | 74.4% | $8,865 |
| Weatherford College AAS, Weatherford | 87.9% | 100% | 96.9% | $16,433 |
| El Paso Community College, Rio Grande AAS, El Paso | 86.7% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| St. Philip's College AAS, San Antonio | 80.4% | Not reported | 93.0% | Not published |
| Concorde Career College, Dallas AAS, Dallas | 80.0% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Wharton County Junior College AAS, Wharton | 77.3% | 100% | 66.7% | Not published |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston AAS, Houston | 73.0% | 96.7% | 84.7% | $44,620 |
| McLennan Community College AAS, Waco | 67.7% | 100% | 87.2% | Not published |
| Del Mar College, Windward AAS, Corpus Christi | 66.7% | 96.0% | 92.0% | $12,567 |
| South Plains College AAS, Levelland | 65.4% | 100% | 80.6% | Not published |
| South University, Austin AS, Round Rock | 62.5% | 92.3% | 89.3% | $39,359 |
| Kilgore College AAS, Kilgore | 54.6% | 100% | 87.0% | $10,351 |
| Amarillo College AAS, Amarillo | 46.9% | 100% | 84.2% | $7,621 |
| Rio Grande Valley College AAS, Pharr | 46.4% | 100% | 97.0% | $31,943 |
3 programs report a 100% rate with at least 20 graduates in the period.
By area
Houston area (5)
- Lone Star College, Montgomery: 96.1%
- Houston City College: 92.2%
- San Jacinto College, South: 90.6%
- Wharton County Junior College: 77.3%
- Pima Medical Institute, Houston: 73.0%
Dallas area (3)
- Collin College, Frisco: 100%
- Navarro College, Midlothian: 88.2%
- Concorde Career College, Dallas: 80.0%
Austin area (2)
El Paso area (2)
Fort Worth area (2)
Rio Grande Valley area (2)
- South Texas College: 100%
- Rio Grande Valley College: 46.4%
San Antonio area (2)
- Concorde Career College, San Antonio: 90.4%
- St. Philip's College: 80.4%
Tyler-Longview area (2)
- Tyler Junior College: 96.7%
- Kilgore College: 54.6%
Amarillo area (1)
- Amarillo College: 46.9%
Bryan-College Station area (1)
- Blinn College, RELLIS: 96.0%
Corpus Christi area (1)
- Del Mar College, Windward: 66.7%
Laredo area (1)
- Laredo College: 96.0%
Lubbock area (1)
- South Plains College: 65.4%
Midland-Odessa area (1)
- Odessa College: 100%
Texarkana area (1)
Victoria area (1)
- Victoria College: 100%
Waco area (1)
- McLennan Community College: 67.7%
How to become a physical therapist assistant in Texas: steps, fees and pay
How to read these numbers
Graduates who passed the NPTE-PTA licensing exam on their first try, as a two-year average for 2024 and 2025 graduates, published by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT). Where a program also publishes its ultimate pass rate (including retakes), it is shown separately.
Job placement: graduates who sought work as a PTA and were employed within a year of passing the exam, as the program reports it. Costs are each school's own published estimate; programs that only list per-credit tuition show "Not published". How we get our numbers