Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

St. Philip's College PTA program: pass rate, jobs and local pay

An AAS program in San Antonio. 80.4% of its graduates passed the NPTE-PTA on the first try over 2024 to 2025.

Physical therapist assistant · AAS · San Antonio, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Total cost
NPTE first-try rate
80.4%
2024 to 2025 1
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$76,830
Median, San Antonio 2

The short version

  • Its NPTE-PTA rate (80.4%) is below the Texas program median of 90.4%.
  • 80.4% passed on the first try, and the program reports 97.8% passing after retakes, so a meaningful share of its graduates needed a second attempt.
  • 93.0% of students who started finished the program.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

CAPTE requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3

80.4%
NPTE-PTA first-try pass rate, 2024 and 2025 graduates (FSBPT)
?
Job placement
97.8%
Passed on any attempt (ultimate rate, program report)
93.0%
Program completion
90.4%
Median of 29 Texas programs
YearPassedTook the examRate
2024172373.9%
2023222684.6%

Graduates who passed the NPTE-PTA licensing exam on their first try, as a two-year average for 2024 and 2025 graduates, published by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT). Where a program also publishes its ultimate pass rate (including retakes), it is shown separately. Job placement: graduates who sought work as a PTA and were employed within a year of passing the exam, as the program reports it.

What it costs

St. Philip's College does not publish a total cost for this program. The 2026 financial fact sheet PDF is disallowed by robots.txt and was not read. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 16 Texas PTA programs that publish a cost range from $6,955 to $45,845, with a median of $10,477.

What physical therapist assistants earn around San Antonio

The median yearly wage for physical therapist assistants in the San Antonio metro area is $76,830. 2 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other PTA programs in the San Antonio area

Compare all 2 PTA programs in the San Antonio area

ProgramNPTE-PTA rateJob placementCost
Concorde Career College, San Antonio
AAS, San Antonio
90.4%Not reportedNot published
St. Philip's College (this page)
AAS, San Antonio
80.4%Not reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas requires a PTA license issued by the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. Applicants must pass the NPTE for PTAs (run by FSBPT), pass the Texas jurisprudence exam (TX JAM), and complete a fingerprint background check.

StepFee
Apply online to the Texas PT Board for a PTA license by exam and pay the application fee.4Not published
Register with FSBPT for the NPTE-PTA after the school verifies graduation, selecting Texas.5$485
Pay the FSBPT card processing fee.6$8
Reserve a seat with Prometric and take the exam.7$92
Pass the Texas Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM) online.8Free
Send an official transcript and passport photo and complete fingerprinting (SSN required from Sept 1, 2026).9Not published
Optional: request a temporary license after applying.10$60not counted

Typical fees to start working: $585. Counts the NPTE-PTA ($485), FSBPT's card processing fee (about $8) and the Prometric seat fee ($92). The Texas license application fee and fingerprinting are extra; we could not confirm the current state fee. Texas PTA licenses renew every two years by the end of the birth month and require 20 continuing competence units, including the board jurisprudence module, under 22 TAC 341.1 and 341.2. Full guide: how to become a physical therapist assistant in Texas

Program facts

Credential
AAS
Schedule
Lecture, lab and full-time clinicals; travel outside San Antonio may be required
Starts
Applications Jan 1 to Mar 31, 2026
Before you apply
BIOL 2401, ENGL 1301 and college algebra or higher are required; three more are strongly encouraged.
Entrance exam
ATI TEAS, 75 or higher recommended
Accreditation
CAPTE, Accredited (initial 05/1973; next visit Fall 2029)
Leads to
National Physical Therapy Examination for PTAs (NPTE-PTA) and a Texas license
Visit St. Philip's College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. St. Philip's College program outcomes page, Program page: graduation 2024 and 2025 combined 46 of 49 (page states 93%); licensure 2023 and 2024 two-year 97.8% (26 of 26 and 22 of 23 within one year). Employment shown only for classes of 2022 (19 of 20) and 2023 (23 of 23), with 2024 awaiting data, so it is left out. byYear is first-attempt passes from the program page..
  2. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Physical Therapist Assistants (31-2021), May 2025 estimates.
  3. Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE), checked Nov. 2026.
  4. Texas PT Board, Apply by Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  5. FSBPT Exam Registration and Payment, checked Nov 2026.
  6. FSBPT Exam Registration and Payment, checked Nov 2026.
  7. FSBPT NPTE Candidate Handbook, Exam Registration and Scheduling, checked Nov 2026.
  8. Texas PT Board, TX JAM, checked Nov 2026.
  9. Texas PT Board, Apply by Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  10. Texas PT Board, Temporary License, checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or CAPTE. Our independence policy