Texas medical assistant programs: who passes, who gets hired, and what it costs
Medical assistants handle clinical and office tasks in doctors’ offices and clinics: taking vitals, drawing blood, giving injections, and scheduling. Programs run from under a year (certificates) to two years (associate degrees). This list covers the Texas programs accredited by CAAHEP, which makes graduates eligible for the CMA exam; many other Texas programs are not accredited. Below is every MAERB-accredited program in Texas we could confirm, with the outcomes each one reports. Data checked Nov. 4, 2026.
Every program, highest certification exam rate first
Rates are multi-year averages as each program reports them to MAERB, so small programs are not swung by one class. Tap a program for its cost, job placement and sources.
| Program | certification exam rate | Job placement | Completion | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Del Mar College, Windward Certificate, Corpus Christi | 100% | 88.3% | Not reported | Not published |
| Collin College, Technical Certificate, Allen | 98.4% | 97.3% | Not reported | $1,215 |
| Lone Star College, CyFair Certificate, Cypress | 98.0% | 90.0% | Not reported | $7,000 |
| McLennan Community College AAS, Waco | 97.9% | 77.1% | Not reported | $8,100 |
| Northeast Texas Community College AAS, Mount Pleasant | 91.2% | 89.8% | Not reported | $7,565 |
| Houston City College, Coleman Certificate, Houston | 87.9% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Tarrant County College, South and Trinity River East Certificate, Fort Worth | 87.6% | Not reported | Not reported | $2,960 |
| Lone Star College, North Harris Certificate, Houston | 84.4% | 93.2% | Not reported | Not published |
| El Paso Community College Certificate, El Paso | 78.0% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| San Jacinto College, North Certificate, Houston | 71.0% | 74.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| San Antonio College Certificate, San Antonio | 67.0% | 60.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| College of the Mainland Certificate, Texas City | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Dallas College, El Centro Certificate, Dallas | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Western Technical College Certificate, El Paso | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $18,062 |
By area
Houston area (5)
- Lone Star College, CyFair: 98.0%
- Houston City College, Coleman: 87.9%
- Lone Star College, North Harris: 84.4%
- San Jacinto College, North: 71.0%
- College of the Mainland
Dallas area (2)
El Paso area (2)
Corpus Christi area (1)
Fort Worth area (1)
San Antonio area (1)
- San Antonio College: 67.0%
Texarkana area (1)
Waco area (1)
- McLennan Community College: 97.9%
How to become a medical assistant in Texas: steps, fees and pay
How to read these numbers
Graduates who passed a medical assistant certification exam, divided by graduates who took it, as the program reports it to MAERB. Most programs report a five-year average; some name the exam (CMA from the AAMA, or RMA from AMT) and some do not. Texas does not license medical assistants, but many employers require certification.
Job placement: graduates employed as medical assistants or in a related field, as the program reports it to MAERB. Costs are each school's own published estimate; programs that only list per-credit tuition show "Not published". How we get our numbers