Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

College of the Mainland medical assistant program: pass rate, jobs and local pay

A certificate program in Texas City, About one year of full-time study (Level 2 certificate); AAS option also offered.

Medical assistant · Certificate · Texas City, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.

Total cost
Exam pass rate
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$42,110
Median, Houston 1

How graduates do

MAERB requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2

?
certification exam rate
?
Job placement
87.9%
Median of 11 Texas programs

Graduates who passed a medical assistant certification exam, divided by graduates who took it, as the program reports it to MAERB. Most programs report a five-year average; some name the exam (CMA from the AAMA, or RMA from AMT) and some do not. Texas does not license medical assistants, but many employers require certification. Job placement: graduates employed as medical assistants or in a related field, as the program reports it to MAERB.

What it costs

College of the Mainland does not publish a total cost for this program. Program page lists only in-district tuition of $1,155 per semester for 15 credit hours; no program total or itemized list. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 6 Texas medical assistant programs that publish a cost range from $1,215 to $18,062, with a median of $7,000.

What medical assistants earn around Houston

The median yearly wage for medical assistants in the Houston metro area is $42,110. 1 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other medical assistant programs in the Houston area

Compare all 5 medical assistant programs in the Houston area

Programcertification exam rateJob placementCost
Lone Star College, CyFair
Certificate, Cypress
98.0%90.0%$7,000
Houston City College, Coleman
Certificate, Houston
87.9%Not reportedNot published
Lone Star College, North Harris
Certificate, Houston
84.4%93.2%Not published
San Jacinto College, North
Certificate, Houston
71.0%74.0%Not published
College of the Mainland (this page)
Certificate, Texas City
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas does not license medical assistants. Many employers prefer a national certification such as the CMA (AAMA) or the RMA (AMT).

StepFee
Graduate from (or finish coursework in) a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program, or qualify through the AAMA Alternative Pathway, and pass the CMA (AAMA) exam.3$125
Alternative: take the AMT RMA exam via education (accredited program, 720 hours with 160 externship, graduated within 4 years), work experience, military, or instructor routes.4$150not counted

Typical fees to start working: $125. Counts the CMA (AAMA) exam at the recent-graduate rate ($125). The RMA ($150) is an alternative. Certification is optional under Texas law. The CMA (AAMA) must be recertified every 60 months; the AMT RMA requires an annual fee ($75, rising to $85 from Feb 1, 2027) and 30 CCP points every three years. Full guide: how to become a medical assistant in Texas

Program facts

Credential
Certificate
Length
About one year of full-time study (Level 2 certificate); AAS option also offered
Schedule
In person
Starts
August (next start Aug 20, 2026; application deadline Mar 10, 2026)
Accreditation
MAERB, Accredited (CAAHEP, on MAERB recommendation); continued accreditation September 2022 per program handbook
Leads to
a national medical assistant certification exam (CMA, RMA or similar)
Visit College of the Mainland's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Medical Assistants (31-9092), May 2025 estimates.
  2. Medical Assisting Education Review Board (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (MAERB), checked Nov. 2026.
  3. AAMA CMA (AAMA) Certification Exam Application and Policies, Form Rev 1-26 (January 2026).
  4. AMT Registered Medical Assistant (RMA), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or MAERB. Our independence policy