Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

San Jacinto College, North medical assistant program: pass rate, jobs and local pay

A certificate program in Houston, Certificate of Technology, 39 credits over 3 terms (1 year); AAS pathway 60 credits (2 years). 71.0% of its graduates passed a certification exam over 2020 to 2024.

Medical assistant · Certificate · Houston, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Total cost
Exam pass rate
71.0%
2020 to 2024 1
Job placement
74.0%
2020 to 2024 1
Payback time
Local wage
$42,110
Median, Houston 2

The short version

  • Its certification exam rate (71.0%) is below the Texas program median of 87.9%.
  • 74.0% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by MAERB's measure.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

MAERB requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3

71.0%
Medical assisting certification exam average pass rate, 2020 to 2024 (exam not named; counts not published)
74.0%
Job placement
92.0%
Retention (students who stayed in the program)
87.9%
Median of 11 Texas programs

Graduates who passed a medical assistant certification exam, divided by graduates who took it, as the program reports it to MAERB. Most programs report a five-year average; some name the exam (CMA from the AAMA, or RMA from AMT) and some do not. Texas does not license medical assistants, but many employers require certification. Job placement: graduates employed as medical assistants or in a related field, as the program reports it to MAERB.

What it costs

San Jacinto College does not publish a total cost for this program. Program costs PDF is blocked by robots.txt and no total appears on the program pages. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 6 Texas medical assistant programs that publish a cost range from $1,215 to $18,062, with a median of $7,000.

What medical assistants earn around Houston

The median yearly wage for medical assistants in the Houston metro area is $42,110. 2 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other medical assistant programs in the Houston area

Compare all 5 medical assistant programs in the Houston area

Programcertification exam rateJob placementCost
Lone Star College, CyFair
Certificate, Cypress
98.0%90.0%$7,000
Houston City College, Coleman
Certificate, Houston
87.9%Not reportedNot published
Lone Star College, North Harris
Certificate, Houston
84.4%93.2%Not published
San Jacinto College, North (this page)
Certificate, Houston
71.0%74.0%Not published
College of the Mainland
Certificate, Texas City
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas does not license medical assistants. Many employers prefer a national certification such as the CMA (AAMA) or the RMA (AMT).

StepFee
Graduate from (or finish coursework in) a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program, or qualify through the AAMA Alternative Pathway, and pass the CMA (AAMA) exam.4$125
Alternative: take the AMT RMA exam via education (accredited program, 720 hours with 160 externship, graduated within 4 years), work experience, military, or instructor routes.5$150not counted

Typical fees to start working: $125. Counts the CMA (AAMA) exam at the recent-graduate rate ($125). The RMA ($150) is an alternative. Certification is optional under Texas law. The CMA (AAMA) must be recertified every 60 months; the AMT RMA requires an annual fee ($75, rising to $85 from Feb 1, 2027) and 30 CCP points every three years. Full guide: how to become a medical assistant in Texas

Program facts

Credential
Certificate
Length
Certificate of Technology, 39 credits over 3 terms (1 year); AAS pathway 60 credits (2 years)
Starts
Summer and Fall cycles (Summer 2027 applications from Mar 22; Fall 2027 from Jun 21)
Accreditation
MAERB, Accredited (CAAHEP)
Leads to
a national medical assistant certification exam (CMA, RMA or similar)
Visit San Jacinto College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. San Jacinto College, North program outcomes page, Admission info page states 2020 to 2024 averages.
  2. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Medical Assistants (31-9092), May 2025 estimates.
  3. Medical Assisting Education Review Board (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (MAERB), checked Nov. 2026.
  4. AAMA CMA (AAMA) Certification Exam Application and Policies, Form Rev 1-26 (January 2026).
  5. AMT Registered Medical Assistant (RMA), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or MAERB. Our independence policy