Texas sonography programs: who passes, who gets hired, and what it costs
Diagnostic medical sonographers use ultrasound to image organs, blood vessels, hearts and pregnancies. Texas programs are associate degrees, certificates or bachelor's degrees, with concentrations in general, cardiac or vascular sonography, and lead to ARDMS or CCI credentials. Below is every JRC-DMS-accredited program in Texas we could confirm, with the outcomes each one reports. Data checked Nov. 4, 2026.
Every program, highest credential exam rate first
Rates are multi-year averages as each program reports them to JRC-DMS, so small programs are not swung by one class. Tap a program for its cost, job placement and sources.
| Program | credential exam rate | Job placement | Completion | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alvin College AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Alvin | 100% | 98.4% | Not reported | $8,743 |
| Dallas College, El Centro AAS, cardiac sonography, Dallas | 100% | 100% | Not reported | $5,940 |
| El Paso Community College, Rio Grande AAS, echocardiography (adult), El Paso | 100% | 100% | Not reported | Not published |
| Tarrant County College, Trinity River East AAS, general sonography, Fort Worth | 100% | 100% | Not reported | $4,810 |
| Texas Southmost College AAS, general sonography, Brownsville | 100% | 96.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Weatherford College AAS, general sonography, Weatherford | 100% | 100% | Not reported | $13,204 |
| Weatherford College AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Weatherford | 100% | 100% | Not reported | $12,599 |
| Tyler Junior College AAS, general sonography, Tyler | 97.0% | 100% | Not reported | Not published |
| Dallas College, El Centro AAS, general sonography, Dallas | 96.7% | 90.0% | Not reported | $5,940 |
| El Paso Community College AAS, general sonography, El Paso | 96.4% | 97.0% | Not reported | $9,812 |
| Collin College, McKinney AAS, general sonography, McKinney | 94.7% | 95.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston Associate degree, general sonography, Houston | 93.3% | 95.6% | Not reported | $50,193 |
| Lamar Institute of Technology AAS, cardiac sonography, Beaumont | 89.3% | 96.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Hill College, Johnson County AAS, cardiac sonography, Cleburne | 89.0% | 83.3% | Not reported | Not published |
| Lamar Institute of Technology AAS, general sonography, Beaumont | 88.9% | 92.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Midland College AAS, general sonography, Midland | 87.0% | 91.0% | Not reported | $8,447 to $0 |
| Del Mar College, Windward AAS, cardiac sonography, Corpus Christi | 81.8% | 100% | Not reported | Not published |
| Pima Medical Institute, El Paso Associate degree, general sonography, El Paso | 80.9% | 92.1% | Not reported | $50,193 |
| Del Mar College, Windward AAS, general sonography, Corpus Christi | 80.0% | 78.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Parker University AAS, general sonography, Dallas | 79.0% | 93.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| St. Philip's College AAS, general sonography, San Antonio | 79.0% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Temple College AAS, general sonography, Temple | 78.6% | 94.8% | Not reported | Not published |
| San Jacinto College, Central AAS, general sonography, Pasadena | 71.9% | 85.0% | Not reported | $8,645 to $12,610 |
| Austin Community College, Eastview AAS, general sonography, Austin | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Austin Community College, Eastview AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Austin | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Baylor Scott & White The Heart Hospital Plano Certificate, adult echocardiography, Plano | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $18,100 |
| Collin College, McKinney AAS, cardiac sonography, McKinney | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Galveston College AAS, general sonography, Galveston | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging Certificate, general sonography, Bellaire | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $4,950 |
| Hill College, Johnson County Certificate, vascular sonography, Cleburne | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Houston City College, Coleman AAS, general sonography, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Lone Star College, CyFair AAS, general sonography, Cypress | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Lone Star College, CyFair AAS, cardiac sonography, Cypress | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Pima Medical Institute, San Antonio AAS, general sonography, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| St. Philip's College Certificate, cardiac sonography, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| The College of Health Care Professions, Fort Worth AAS, general sonography, Fort Worth | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| The College of Health Care Professions, Austin AAS, general sonography, Austin | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
5 programs report a 100% rate with at least 20 graduates in the period.
By area
Houston area (8)
- Alvin College: 100%
- Pima Medical Institute, Houston: 93.3%
- San Jacinto College, Central: 71.9%
- Galveston College
- Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging
- Houston City College, Coleman
- Lone Star College, CyFair
- Lone Star College, CyFair
Dallas area (6)
- Dallas College, El Centro: 100%
- Dallas College, El Centro: 96.7%
- Collin College, McKinney: 94.7%
- Parker University: 79.0%
- Baylor Scott & White The Heart Hospital Plano
- Collin College, McKinney
Fort Worth area (6)
- Tarrant County College, Trinity River East: 100%
- Weatherford College: 100%
- Weatherford College: 100%
- Hill College, Johnson County: 89.0%
- Hill College, Johnson County
- The College of Health Care Professions, Fort Worth
Austin area (3)
- Austin Community College, Eastview
- Austin Community College, Eastview
- The College of Health Care Professions, Austin
El Paso area (3)
- El Paso Community College, Rio Grande: 100%
- El Paso Community College: 96.4%
- Pima Medical Institute, El Paso: 80.9%
San Antonio area (3)
Beaumont-Port Arthur area (2)
Corpus Christi area (2)
- Del Mar College, Windward: 81.8%
- Del Mar College, Windward: 80.0%
Killeen-Temple area (1)
- Temple College: 78.6%
Midland-Odessa area (1)
- Midland College: 87.0%
Rio Grande Valley area (1)
- Texas Southmost College: 100%
Tyler-Longview area (1)
- Tyler Junior College: 97.0%
How to become a sonographer in Texas: steps, fees and pay
How to read these numbers
Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.
Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Costs are each school's own published estimate; programs that only list per-credit tuition show "Not published". How we get our numbers