Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Baylor Scott & White The Heart Hospital Plano sonography program costs $18,100. Here is how its graduates do.

A certificate, adult echocardiography program in Plano, 12 months (52 weeks), 1,496 contact hours.

Diagnostic medical sonography · Certificate, adult echocardiography · Plano, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.

Total cost
$18,100*
School estimate 1
Credential pass rate
Job placement
Payback time
1.8 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$98,810
Median, Dallas 2

The short version

  • Its published cost is above the median for Texas sonography programs that publish one ($8,743).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for diagnostic medical sonographers, the program cost is paid back in about 1.8 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3

?
credential exam rate
?
Job placement
93.3%
Median of 23 Texas programs

Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.

Where the money goes

Nine of every ten dollars goes to tuition (includes admin and lab fees, textbooks, loaner laptop, scrubs, cci rcs exam fee). Program page lists the same $18,000 tuition and $100 fee and says the CCI or ARDMS exam fee is reimbursed after passing. Tuition paid in two halves, Aug 15 and Mar 1.

ItemCost
Tuition (includes admin and lab fees, textbooks, loaner laptop, scrubs, CCI RCS exam fee)$18,000
Application fee (non-refundable)$100
Total 1$18,100

* How we calculated this: Total is tuition plus the application fee, added together by us.

Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. Student handbook Vol. 3.6, effective May 8, 2026.

What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around Dallas

The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the Dallas metro area is $98,810. 2 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other sonography programs in the Dallas area

Compare all 6 sonography programs in the Dallas area

Programcredential exam rateJob placementCost
Dallas College, El Centro
AAS, cardiac sonography, Dallas
100%100%$5,940
Dallas College, El Centro
AAS, general sonography, Dallas
96.7%90.0%$5,940
Collin College, McKinney
AAS, general sonography, McKinney
94.7%95.0%Not published
Parker University
AAS, general sonography, Dallas
79.0%93.0%Not published
Collin College, McKinney
AAS, cardiac sonography, McKinney
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Baylor Scott & White The Heart Hospital Plano (this page)
Certificate, adult echocardiography, Plano
Not reportedNot reported$18,100

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).

StepFee
Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.4$275
Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).5$300
Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.6$365not counted

Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas

With Baylor Scott & White The Heart Hospital Plano's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $18,675, before prerequisites and living costs.

Program facts

Credential
Certificate, adult echocardiography
Length
12 months (52 weeks), 1,496 contact hours
Schedule
Full time in person, weekdays 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., with externships at Baylor Scott & White facilities
Starts
Fall (class started Sept 8, 2026); applications Feb 1 to Mar 31
Before you apply
An associate degree (bachelor's preferred) and 8 hours of human anatomy and physiology with a C or better within 8 years.
Accreditation
CAAHEP, on the recommendation of JRC-CVT, Accredited by CAAHEP on recommendation of JRC-CVT
Leads to
ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Visit Baylor Scott & White The Heart Hospital Plano's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. Cardiovascular Institute student handbook, Student handbook Vol. 3.6, effective May 8, 2026.
  2. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
  3. Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
  4. Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  5. ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  6. CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy