Texas OTA programs: who passes, who gets hired, and what it costs
Occupational therapy assistants help people relearn everyday tasks after injury, illness or disability, under an occupational therapist. Texas programs are mostly two-year associate degrees and lead to the NBCOT COTA exam and a Texas license. Below is every ACOTE-accredited program in Texas we could confirm, with the outcomes each one reports. Data checked Nov. 4, 2026.
Every program, highest NBCOT COTA exam rate first
Rates are multi-year averages as each program reports them to ACOTE, so small programs are not swung by one class. Tap a program for its cost, job placement and sources.
| Program | NBCOT COTA exam rate | Job placement | Completion | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Community College, Eastview AAS, Austin | 100% | Not reported | 82.0% | Not published |
| Navarro College AAS, Corsicana | 100% | Not reported | 80.0% | $8,801 |
| San Jacinto College, South AAS, Houston | 100% | Not reported | 88.8% | Not published |
| South Texas College AAS, McAllen | 100% | Not reported | 91.0% | $15,956 |
| Tyler Junior College AAS, Tyler | 100% | Not reported | 92.8% | $11,003 |
| Panola College AAS, Carthage | 95.0% | Not reported | 95.0% | Not published |
| Pima Medical Institute, El Paso AAS, El Paso | 94.0% | Not reported | 87.0% | $45,701 |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston AAS, Houston | 94.0% | Not reported | 78.0% | $45,701 |
| Del Mar College, Windward AAS, Corpus Christi | 92.0% | Not reported | 95.0% | $13,209 |
| Weatherford College AAS, Weatherford | 89.0% | Not reported | 87.0% | $14,016 |
| Houston Community College AAS, Houston | 86.0% | Not reported | 83.0% | Not published |
| Lone Star College, Tomball AAS, Tomball | 86.0% | Not reported | 87.0% | $9,611 |
| Lone Star College, Kingwood AAS, Kingwood | 84.0% | Not reported | 89.0% | $11,635 |
| McLennan Community College AAS, Waco | 80.0% | Not reported | 63.6% | Not published |
| St. Philip's College, MLK AAS, San Antonio | 78.0% | Not reported | 89.0% | $10,164 |
| Amarillo College AAS, Amarillo | 73.0% | Not reported | 94.0% | $8,300 |
| Dallas College, Mountain View AAS, Dallas | 50.0% | Not reported | 100% | $5,940 |
By area
Houston area (5)
- San Jacinto College, South: 100%
- Pima Medical Institute, Houston: 94.0%
- Houston Community College: 86.0%
- Lone Star College, Tomball: 86.0%
- Lone Star College, Kingwood: 84.0%
Dallas area (2)
- Navarro College: 100%
- Dallas College, Mountain View: 50.0%
Tyler-Longview area (2)
- Tyler Junior College: 100%
- Panola College: 95.0%
Amarillo area (1)
- Amarillo College: 73.0%
Austin area (1)
Corpus Christi area (1)
- Del Mar College, Windward: 92.0%
El Paso area (1)
Fort Worth area (1)
- Weatherford College: 89.0%
Rio Grande Valley area (1)
- South Texas College: 100%
San Antonio area (1)
- St. Philip's College, MLK: 78.0%
Waco area (1)
- McLennan Community College: 80.0%
How to become an occupational therapy assistant in Texas: steps, fees and pay
How to read these numbers
New graduates who passed the NBCOT COTA certification exam, divided by new graduates who took it, as NBCOT or the program reports it.
Job placement: graduates employed as occupational therapy assistants, as the program reports it. Costs are each school's own published estimate; programs that only list per-credit tuition show "Not published". How we get our numbers