Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Tyler Junior College OTA program costs $11,003. Here is how its graduates do.

An AAS program in Tyler, Four semesters plus one semester of full-time fieldwork. 100% of its graduates passed the NBCOT COTA exam in 2025.

Occupational therapy assistant · AAS · Tyler, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Total cost
$11,003
School estimate 1
NBCOT pass rate
100%
2025 2
Job placement
Payback time
1.5 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$75,280
Median, Tyler-Longview 3

The short version

  • Its NBCOT COTA exam rate (100%) is above the Texas program median of 92.0%.
  • 92.8% of students who started finished the program.
  • Its published cost is at or below the median for Texas OTA programs that publish one ($11,003).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for occupational therapy assistants, the program cost is paid back in about 1.5 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

ACOTE requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 4

100%
New graduates who passed the NBCOT COTA exam, 2025
?
Job placement
92.8%
Program completion
92.0%
Median of 17 Texas programs
YearNBCOT pass rate
2025100%
202492.0%
2023100%

New graduates who passed the NBCOT COTA certification exam, divided by new graduates who took it, as NBCOT or the program reports it. Job placement: graduates employed as occupational therapy assistants, as the program reports it.

Where the money goes

About half of every dollar goes to tuition for 60 hours (includes prerequisites). Excludes the $540 NBCOT exam. Out-of-district total $14,783.30.

ItemCost
Tuition for 60 hours (includes prerequisites)$6,476
Program and TJC course fees$2,719
Supply items$330
Books (including prerequisite books)$1,478
Total 1$11,003

Not included: living costs. In-district program cost table, undated, live now.

What occupational therapy assistants earn around Tyler-Longview

The median yearly wage for occupational therapy assistants in the Tyler-Longview metro area is $75,280. 3 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other OTA programs in the Tyler-Longview area

Compare all 2 OTA programs in the Tyler-Longview area

ProgramNBCOT COTA exam rateJob placementCost
Tyler Junior College (this page)
AAS, Tyler
100%Not reported$11,003
Panola College
AAS, Carthage
95.0%Not reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas requires an OTA license issued by the Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners. Applicants must pass the NBCOT COTA exam (score sent by NBCOT directly to the Board), pass the Texas jurisprudence exam, and complete fingerprinting.

StepFee
Apply to NBCOT and pass the COTA certification exam.5$540
Apply to the Texas OT Board for an OTA license by exam.6$100
Pass the 20-question open-book online jurisprudence exam.7Free
Have NBCOT send the passing score to the Board, send a photo, and complete fingerprinting after applying (SSN required from Sept 1, 2026).8Not published
Optional: request a temporary license if taking the NBCOT exam for the first time.9$55not counted

Typical fees to start working: $640. Counts the NBCOT exam ($540) and the Texas OTA application ($100). Fingerprinting is extra. Texas OTA licenses renew every two years by the end of the birth month with at least 24 contact hours of CE including a human trafficking course; NBCOT certification renews every three years with 36 units ($65 online). Full guide: how to become an occupational therapy assistant in Texas

With Tyler Junior College's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $11,643, before prerequisites and living costs.

Program facts

Credential
AAS
Length
Four semesters plus one semester of full-time fieldwork
Before you apply
The program page does not list prerequisite courses.
Entrance exam
HESI A2
Accreditation
ACOTE, Accredited (ACOTE)
Leads to
NBCOT COTA certification exam and a Texas license
Visit Tyler Junior College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. TJC Occupational Therapy Assistant Tuition and Fees page, In-district program cost table, undated, live now.
  2. Tyler Junior College program outcomes page, NBCOT School Performance Data, checked Nov. 5, 2026; graduation rate from the program's page (2022 to 2024).
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Occupational Therapy Assistants (31-2011), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE), checked Nov. 2026.
  5. NBCOT Fees, checked Nov 2026.
  6. Texas OT Board, Initial Licensure General Information (2026), Document dated 2026.
  7. Texas OT Board, OT Application, checked Nov 2026.
  8. Texas OT Board, OT Application, checked Nov 2026.
  9. Texas OT Board, Initial Licensure General Information (2026), Document dated 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or ACOTE. Our independence policy