Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Dallas College, El Centro (cardiac) sonography program costs $5,940. Here is how its graduates do.

An AAS, cardiac sonography program in Dallas, About 2 years full time. 30 of its 30 graduates passed their credentialing exams over 2022 to 2024.

Diagnostic medical sonography · AAS, cardiac sonography · Dallas, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Dallas College also runs a general track (96.7% credential exam rate).

Total cost
$5,940*
School estimate 1
Credential pass rate
100%
30 of 30, 2022 to 2024 2
Job placement
100%
2022 to 2024 2
Payback time
0.6 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$98,810
Median, Dallas 3

The short version

  • Its credential exam rate (100%) is above the Texas program median of 93.3%.
  • 100% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by JRC-DMS's measure.
  • Its published cost is at or below the median for Texas sonography programs that publish one ($8,743).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for diagnostic medical sonographers, the program cost is paid back in about 0.6 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 4

100%
ARDMS RDCS credentialing exam pass rate, 2022 to 2024 graduates, 3-year total
100%
Job placement
86.1%
Retention (students who stayed in the program)
93.3%
Median of 23 Texas programs
YearPassedTook the examRate
20241212100%
202388100%
20221010100%

Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.

Where the money goes

The school's estimate. Page says tuition is based on program hours and most required learning materials are included, but some programs have added costs.

ItemCost
Estimated total tuition (Dallas County resident)$5,940
Total 1$5,940

* How we calculated this: Tuition only; the school's estimate does not list fees, exam or clinical costs.

Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. Estimated total tuition, Dallas County resident (undated, live page).

What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around Dallas

The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the Dallas metro area is $98,810. 3 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other sonography programs in the Dallas area

Compare all 6 sonography programs in the Dallas area

Programcredential exam rateJob placementCost
Dallas College, El Centro (this page)
AAS, cardiac sonography, Dallas
100%100%$5,940
Dallas College, El Centro
AAS, general sonography, Dallas
96.7%90.0%$5,940
Collin College, McKinney
AAS, general sonography, McKinney
94.7%95.0%Not published
Parker University
AAS, general sonography, Dallas
79.0%93.0%Not published
Collin College, McKinney
AAS, cardiac sonography, McKinney
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Baylor Scott & White The Heart Hospital Plano
Certificate, adult echocardiography, Plano
Not reportedNot reported$18,100

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).

StepFee
Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.5$275
Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).6$300
Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.7$365not counted

Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas

With Dallas College's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $6,515, before prerequisites and living costs.

Program facts

Credential
AAS, cardiac sonography
Length
About 2 years full time
Schedule
In person and hybrid (both listed on program page), with clinicals
Before you apply
Separate health admissions process; viewing the information session is required to get the application link, and a background check and drug test are required.
Accreditation
CAAHEP, on the recommendation of JRC-CVT, Accredited by CAAHEP on recommendation of JRC-CVT (adult cardiac)
Leads to
ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Visit Dallas College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. Dallas College Cardiac Sonography program page, Estimated total tuition, Dallas County resident (undated, live page).
  2. Dallas College, El Centro program outcomes page, Program page tables for 2022 to 2024, no as-of date. Retention 31 of 36 enrolled graduated; positive placement 30 of 30 graduates. Page shows 9 graduates in 2023 for retention but 8 for placement and exam, without explanation. Figures are for the Cardiac Sonography program overall..
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
  5. Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  6. ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  7. CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy