Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Austin Community College, Eastview (general) sonography program: pass rate, jobs and local pay

An AAS, general sonography program in Austin.

Diagnostic medical sonography · AAS, general sonography · Austin, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.

Austin Community College also runs a cardiovascular track.

Total cost
Credential pass rate
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$98,010
Median, Austin 1

How graduates do

JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2

?
credential exam rate
?
Job placement
93.3%
Median of 23 Texas programs

Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.

What it costs

Austin Community College does not publish a total cost for this program. Cost sheets are hosted on Google Drive and could not be read by our fetch tool Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 13 Texas sonography programs that publish a cost range from $4,810 to $50,193, with a median of $8,743.

What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around Austin

The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the Austin metro area is $98,010. 1 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other sonography programs in the Austin area

Compare all 3 sonography programs in the Austin area

Programcredential exam rateJob placementCost
Austin Community College, Eastview (this page)
AAS, general sonography, Austin
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Austin Community College, Eastview
AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Austin
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
The College of Health Care Professions, Austin
AAS, general sonography, Austin
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).

StepFee
Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.3$275
Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).4$300
Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.5$365not counted

Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas

Program facts

Credential
AAS, general sonography
Accreditation
JRC-DMS, Accredited by CAAHEP on recommendation of JRC-DMS (program-level statement)
Leads to
ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Visit Austin Community College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
  2. Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
  3. Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  4. ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  5. CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy