The College of Health Care Professions, Austin sonography program: pass rate, jobs and local pay
An AAS, general sonography program in Austin.
We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.
Each campus reports its own outcomes to JRC-DMS:
- Austin (this page)
- Fort Worth
How graduates do
JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2
Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.
What it costs
The College of Health Care Professions does not publish a total cost for this program. Not checked yet. Ask the program for its cost sheet.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 13 Texas sonography programs that publish a cost range from $4,810 to $50,193, with a median of $8,743.
What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around Austin
The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the Austin metro area is $98,010. 1 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.
Other sonography programs in the Austin area
Compare all 3 sonography programs in the Austin area
| Program | credential exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Community College, Eastview AAS, general sonography, Austin | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Austin Community College, Eastview AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Austin | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| The College of Health Care Professions, Austin (this page) AAS, general sonography, Austin | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
After you graduate: getting to work in Texas
Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).
| Step | Fee |
|---|---|
| Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.3 | $275 |
| Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).4 | $300 |
| Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.5 | $365not counted |
Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas
Program facts
- Credential
- AAS, general sonography
- Length
- Data coming soon
- Accreditation
- JRC-DMS, Accredited (CAAHEP Find a Program, Nov. 2026)
- Leads to
- ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Sources and dates
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
- Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
- Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
- ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
- CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy