St. Philip's College (general) sonography program: pass rate, jobs and local pay
An AAS, general sonography program in San Antonio. 79.0% of its graduates passed their credentialing exams over Class of 2023.
St. Philip's College also runs a cardiac track.
The short version
- Its credential exam rate (79.0%) is below the Texas program median of 93.3%.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How graduates do
JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3
Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.
What it costs
St. Philip's College does not publish a total cost for this program. No program total or fixed itemized cost list from the school found Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 13 Texas sonography programs that publish a cost range from $4,810 to $50,193, with a median of $8,743.
What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around San Antonio
The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the San Antonio metro area is $84,340. 2 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.
Other sonography programs in the San Antonio area
Compare all 3 sonography programs in the San Antonio area
| Program | credential exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Philip's College (this page) AAS, general sonography, San Antonio | 79.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Pima Medical Institute, San Antonio AAS, general sonography, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| St. Philip's College Certificate, cardiac sonography, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
After you graduate: getting to work in Texas
Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).
| Step | Fee |
|---|---|
| Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.4 | $275 |
| Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).5 | $300 |
| Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.6 | $365not counted |
Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas
Program facts
- Credential
- AAS, general sonography
- Length
- Data coming soon
- Schedule
- Face to face, weekdays 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
- Starts
- Fall
- Before you apply
- Anatomy and physiology I and II (or BIOL 2404), MATH 1314 and PHYS 1305, each within 5 years with a C, plus 3.0 GPA.
- Entrance exam
- Ultrasound Student Assessment (USA) exam
- Accreditation
- JRC-DMS, Accredited by CAAHEP on recommendation of JRC-DMS; OB/GYN concentration added effective May 16, 2025, next evaluation 2030
- Leads to
- ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Sources and dates
- St. Philip's College program outcomes page, Older outcomes sheet, 2023 figures as of Nov 2023 (percentages only, no counts). OB/GYN 100%. The newer AR2025 report is blocked by robots.txt..
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
- Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
- Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
- ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
- CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy