Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Tarrant County College, Trinity River East sonography program costs $4,810. Here is how its graduates do.

An AAS, general sonography program in Fort Worth. 32 of its 32 graduates passed their credentialing exams over 2023 to 2025.

Diagnostic medical sonography · AAS, general sonography · Fort Worth, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Total cost
$4,810
School estimate 1
Credential pass rate
100%
32 of 32, 2023 to 2025 2
Job placement
100%
2023 to 2025 2
Payback time
0.5 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$98,810
Median, Fort Worth 3

The short version

  • Its credential exam rate (100%) is above the Texas program median of 93.3%.
  • 100% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by JRC-DMS's measure.
  • Its published cost is at or below the median for Texas sonography programs that publish one ($8,743).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for diagnostic medical sonographers, the program cost is paid back in about 0.5 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 4

100%
Abdomen-extended credential success rate (RDMS(AB)), 2023 to 2025 graduates
100%
Job placement
89.0%
Retention (students who stayed in the program)
93.3%
Median of 23 Texas programs
YearPassedTook the examRate
20251010100%
20241111100%
20231111100%

Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.

Where the money goes

The school's estimate. Textbooks and other materials not included.

ItemCost
Total tuition and fees, 65 credits, in-state in-county$4,810
Total 1$4,810

Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. 2026-2027 academic year, in-county.

What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around Fort Worth

The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the Fort Worth metro area is $98,810. 3 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other sonography programs in the Fort Worth area

Compare all 6 sonography programs in the Fort Worth area

Programcredential exam rateJob placementCost
Tarrant County College, Trinity River East (this page)
AAS, general sonography, Fort Worth
100%100%$4,810
Weatherford College
AAS, general sonography, Weatherford
100%100%$13,204
Weatherford College
AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Weatherford
100%100%$12,599
Hill College, Johnson County
AAS, cardiac sonography, Cleburne
89.0%83.3%Not published
The College of Health Care Professions, Fort Worth
AAS, general sonography, Fort Worth
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Hill College, Johnson County
Certificate, vascular sonography, Cleburne
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).

StepFee
Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.5$275
Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).6$300
Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.7$365not counted

Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas

With Tarrant County College's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $5,385, before prerequisites and living costs.

Program facts

Credential
AAS, general sonography
Accreditation
JRC-DMS, Accredited by CAAHEP on recommendation of JRC-DMS (abdomen-extended, OB/GYN, vascular)
Leads to
ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Visit Tarrant County College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. TCC Diagnostic Medical Sonography program page, 2026-2027 academic year, in-county.
  2. Tarrant County College, Trinity River East program outcomes page, Program page figures for 2023 to 2025. OB/GYN and vascular also 100%. Retention 3-year average 89%, placement 100%..
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
  5. Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  6. ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  7. CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy