Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Weatherford College (cardiovascular) sonography program costs $12,599. Here is how its graduates do.

An AAS, cardiovascular sonography program in Weatherford, 19 months, full time. 19 of its 19 graduates passed their credentialing exams over 2024 to 2025.

Diagnostic medical sonography · AAS, cardiovascular sonography · Weatherford, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Weatherford College also runs a general track (100% credential exam rate).

Total cost
$12,599
School estimate 1
Credential pass rate
100%
19 of 19, 2024 to 2025 2
Job placement
100%
2024 to 2025 2
Payback time
1.3 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$98,810
Median, Fort Worth 3

The short version

  • Its credential exam rate (100%) is above the Texas program median of 93.3%.
  • 100% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by JRC-DMS's measure.
  • 75.9% of students stayed in the program, by JRC-DMS's retention measure.
  • Its published cost is above the median for Texas sonography programs that publish one ($8,743).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for diagnostic medical sonographers, the program cost is paid back in about 1.3 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 4

100%
Adult cardiac credential success rate (RDCS(AE) or RCS), 2024 to 2025 graduates
100%
Job placement
75.9%
Retention (students who stayed in the program)
93.3%
Median of 23 Texas programs
YearPassedTook the examRate
202599100%
20241010100%

Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.

Where the money goes

The school's estimate, in 5 parts. Out-of-state total $20,079. Includes textbooks, uniforms and ARDMS exam fees.

ItemCost
Semester one$4,330
Semester two$2,932
Semester three$2,453
Semester four$1,180
Semester five$1,704
Total 1$12,599

Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. 2026-2027 rates, in-district.

What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around Fort Worth

The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the Fort Worth metro area is $98,810. 3 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other sonography programs in the Fort Worth area

Compare all 6 sonography programs in the Fort Worth area

Programcredential exam rateJob placementCost
Tarrant County College, Trinity River East
AAS, general sonography, Fort Worth
100%100%$4,810
Weatherford College
AAS, general sonography, Weatherford
100%100%$13,204
Weatherford College (this page)
AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Weatherford
100%100%$12,599
Hill College, Johnson County
AAS, cardiac sonography, Cleburne
89.0%83.3%Not published
The College of Health Care Professions, Fort Worth
AAS, general sonography, Fort Worth
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Hill College, Johnson County
Certificate, vascular sonography, Cleburne
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).

StepFee
Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.5$275
Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).6$300
Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.7$365not counted

Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas

With Weatherford College's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $13,174, before prerequisites and living costs.

Program facts

Credential
AAS, cardiovascular sonography
Length
19 months, full time
Schedule
Evening classes and labs on campus, daytime clinicals
Accreditation
JRC-DMS, Accredited by CAAHEP on recommendation of JRC-DMS
Leads to
ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Visit Weatherford College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. Weatherford College Cardiovascular Sonography costs 2026-2027, 2026-2027 rates, in-district.
  2. Weatherford College program outcomes page, 2026 report; no 2023 graduates yet, so no 3-year average. Vascular 8 of 8. Retention 22 of 29 (we added the two years), placement 22 of 22. Adult cardiac test-taker rate 82% (2025), vascular 36%..
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
  5. Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  6. ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  7. CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy