Weatherford College (general) sonography program costs $13,204. Here is how its graduates do.
An AAS, general sonography program in Weatherford, 22 months, full time. 44 of its 44 graduates passed their credentialing exams over 2022 to 2024.
Weatherford College also runs a cardiovascular track (100% credential exam rate).
The short version
- Its credential exam rate (100%) is above the Texas program median of 93.3%.
- 100% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by JRC-DMS's measure.
- 74.0% of students stayed in the program, by JRC-DMS's retention measure.
- Its published cost is above the median for Texas sonography programs that publish one ($8,743).
- At 10% of the local median wage for diagnostic medical sonographers, the program cost is paid back in about 1.3 years.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How graduates do
JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 4
| Year | Passed | Took the exam | Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 15 | 15 | 100% |
| 2023 | 13 | 13 | 100% |
| 2022 | 16 | 16 | 100% |
Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.
Where the money goes
The school's estimate, in 5 parts. Out-of-state total $20,497. Includes textbooks, uniforms and ARDMS SPI, AB, OB/GYN and vascular exam fees; items marked varies (insurance, CPR, immunizations) are not included.
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| Semester one (fall) | $3,152 |
| Semester two (spring) | $2,957 |
| Semester three (summer) | $1,778 |
| Semester four (fall) | $2,209 |
| Semester five (spring) | $3,108 |
| Total 1 | $13,204 |
Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. 2026-2027 rates, in-district (revised 4/6/2026).
What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around Fort Worth
The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the Fort Worth metro area is $98,810. 3 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.
Other sonography programs in the Fort Worth area
Compare all 6 sonography programs in the Fort Worth area
| Program | credential exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tarrant County College, Trinity River East AAS, general sonography, Fort Worth | 100% | 100% | $4,810 |
| Weatherford College (this page) AAS, general sonography, Weatherford | 100% | 100% | $13,204 |
| Weatherford College AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Weatherford | 100% | 100% | $12,599 |
| Hill College, Johnson County AAS, cardiac sonography, Cleburne | 89.0% | 83.3% | Not published |
| The College of Health Care Professions, Fort Worth AAS, general sonography, Fort Worth | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Hill College, Johnson County Certificate, vascular sonography, Cleburne | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
After you graduate: getting to work in Texas
Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).
| Step | Fee |
|---|---|
| Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.5 | $275 |
| Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).6 | $300 |
| Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.7 | $365not counted |
Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas
With Weatherford College's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $13,779, before prerequisites and living costs.
Program facts
- Credential
- AAS, general sonography
- Length
- 22 months, full time
- Schedule
- Weekdays 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., classroom, lab and clinical
- Accreditation
- JRC-DMS, Accredited by CAAHEP on recommendation of JRC-DMS
- Leads to
- ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Sources and dates
- Weatherford College DMS estimated costs 2026-2027, 2026-2027 rates, in-district (revised 4/6/2026).
- Weatherford College program outcomes page, 2024 report (no as-of date). OB/GYN 100%, vascular 98%. Retention 3-year average 74%, placement 100%..
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
- Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
- Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
- ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
- CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy