Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Pima Medical Institute, Houston sonography program costs $50,193. Here is how its graduates do.

An associate degree, general sonography program in Houston, About 22 months. 83 of its 89 graduates passed their credentialing exams over 2023 to 2025.

Diagnostic medical sonography · Associate degree, general sonography · Houston, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Pima Medical Institute runs this program at 2 Texas campuses

Each campus reports its own outcomes to JRC-DMS:

  • Houston (this page): 93.3% credential exam rate, 95.6% job placement
  • El Paso: 80.9% credential exam rate, 92.1% job placement
Total cost
$50,193
School estimate 1
Credential pass rate
93.3%
83 of 89, 2023 to 2025 2
Job placement
95.6%
2023 to 2025 2
Payback time
5.3 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$95,100
Median, Houston 3

The short version

  • Its credential exam rate (93.3%) is close to the Texas program median of 93.3%.
  • 95.6% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by JRC-DMS's measure.
  • 65.7% of students stayed in the program, by JRC-DMS's retention measure.
  • Its published cost is above the median for Texas sonography programs that publish one ($8,743).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for diagnostic medical sonographers, the program cost is paid back in about 5.3 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 4

93.3%
Abdomen-extended credential success rate (RDMS(AB) or RT(S)), 2023 to 2025 graduates, both cohort tracks
95.6%
Job placement
65.7%
Retention (students who stayed in the program)
93.3%
Median of 23 Texas programs
YearPassedTook the examRate
20253838100%
2024161984.2%
2023293290.6%

Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.

Where the money goes

The school's estimate. Same total listed for El Paso, Houston and San Antonio.

ItemCost
Program total (tuition, textbooks, lab supplies, tax, technology fee, uniforms)$50,193
Total 1$50,193

Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. Current cost (undated disclosure).

What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around Houston

The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the Houston metro area is $95,100. 3 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other sonography programs in the Houston area

Compare all 8 sonography programs in the Houston area

Programcredential exam rateJob placementCost
Alvin College
AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Alvin
100%98.4%$8,743
Pima Medical Institute, Houston (this page)
Associate degree, general sonography, Houston
93.3%95.6%$50,193
San Jacinto College, Central
AAS, general sonography, Pasadena
71.9%85.0%$8,645 to $12,610
Galveston College
AAS, general sonography, Galveston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging
Certificate, general sonography, Bellaire
Not reportedNot reported$4,950
Houston City College, Coleman
AAS, general sonography, Houston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Lone Star College, CyFair
AAS, general sonography, Cypress
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Lone Star College, CyFair
AAS, cardiac sonography, Cypress
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).

StepFee
Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.5$275
Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).6$300
Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.7$365not counted

Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas

With Pima Medical Institute's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $50,768, before prerequisites and living costs.

Program facts

Credential
Associate degree, general sonography
Length
About 22 months
Schedule
On campus (hybrid at select campuses) with 1,080 externship hours
Before you apply
High school diploma or equivalent; campus requirements may apply.
Accreditation
JRC-DMS, Accredited by CAAHEP on recommendation of JRC-DMS
Leads to
ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Visit Pima Medical Institute's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. Pima Medical Institute Additional Tuition Disclosure, DMS, Current cost (undated disclosure).
  2. Pima Medical Institute, Houston program outcomes page, Report file dated 06/12/2026. We combined the two cohort tracks; retention 90 of 137, placement 86 of 90. OB/GYN test-taker rate only 20% over 3 years..
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
  5. Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  6. ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  7. CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy