Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

San Jacinto College, Central sonography program costs $8,645 to $12,610. Here is how its graduates do.

An AAS, general sonography program in Pasadena, 5 semesters, including one summer. 23 of its 32 graduates passed their credentialing exams over 2022 to 2024.

Diagnostic medical sonography · AAS, general sonography · Pasadena, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Total cost
$8,645 to $12,610
School estimate 1
Credential pass rate
71.9%
23 of 32, 2022 to 2024 2
Job placement
85.0%
2022 to 2024 2
Payback time
0.9 to 1.3 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$95,100
Median, Houston 3

The short version

  • Its credential exam rate (71.9%) is below the Texas program median of 93.3%.
  • 85.0% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by JRC-DMS's measure.
  • 73.0% of students stayed in the program, by JRC-DMS's retention measure.
  • Its published cost is at or below the median for Texas sonography programs that publish one ($8,743).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for diagnostic medical sonographers, the program cost is paid back in about 0.9 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 4

71.9%
Abdomen-extended credential success rate (RDMS(AB) or RT(S)), 2022 to 2024 graduates
85.0%
Job placement
73.0%
Retention (students who stayed in the program)
93.3%
Median of 23 Texas programs
YearPassedTook the examRate
2024101283.3%
202391275.0%
20224850.0%

Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.

Where the money goes

The school's estimate, in 13 parts. High is the out-of-district total. Out-of-state students pay additional fees. The page does not say whether course costs include college fees. Clinical travel is extra.

ItemCost
Prerequisite courses (in-district)$996
Required general education course (in-district)$747
Program core courses (in-district)$3,652
Books$700
Additional course materials$375
Background check and drug/alcohol screening$180
Immunizations and physical$700
CPR for healthcare providers$100
Uniforms$140
ARDMS SPI registry exam$275
ARDMS Abdomen registry exam$275
ARDMS OB/GYN registry exam$275
Clinical management system$230
Total 1$8,645

Not included: living costs. Undated page, live Nov 5, 2026.

What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around Houston

The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the Houston metro area is $95,100. 3 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other sonography programs in the Houston area

Compare all 8 sonography programs in the Houston area

Programcredential exam rateJob placementCost
Alvin College
AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Alvin
100%98.4%$8,743
Pima Medical Institute, Houston
Associate degree, general sonography, Houston
93.3%95.6%$50,193
San Jacinto College, Central (this page)
AAS, general sonography, Pasadena
71.9%85.0%$8,645 to $12,610
Galveston College
AAS, general sonography, Galveston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging
Certificate, general sonography, Bellaire
Not reportedNot reported$4,950
Houston City College, Coleman
AAS, general sonography, Houston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Lone Star College, CyFair
AAS, general sonography, Cypress
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Lone Star College, CyFair
AAS, cardiac sonography, Cypress
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).

StepFee
Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.5$275
Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).6$300
Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.7$365not counted

Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas

With San Jacinto College's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $9,220, before prerequisites and living costs.

Program facts

Credential
AAS, general sonography
Length
5 semesters, including one summer
Starts
Once a year (fall)
Before you apply
Finish Anatomy and Physiology I with lab, College Algebra, a physics course and Introduction to Sonography (DMSO 1110) with a C or better.
Entrance exam
HESI A2
Accreditation
JRC-DMS, Accredited by CAAHEP on recommendation of JRC-DMS; current award 5 years
Leads to
ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Visit San Jacinto College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. San Jacinto College Sonography Admission Info, Approximate Program Costs, Undated page, live Nov 5, 2026.
  2. San Jacinto College, Central program outcomes page, No as-of date; page's own 3-year average is 69%. OB/GYN 3-year average 94%. Retention 73%, placement 85%..
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
  5. Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  6. ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  7. CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy