Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Lone Star College, CyFair (general) sonography program: pass rate, jobs and local pay

An AAS, general sonography program in Cypress.

Diagnostic medical sonography · AAS, general sonography · Cypress, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.

Lone Star College also runs a cardiac track.

Total cost
Credential pass rate
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$95,100
Median, Houston 1

How graduates do

JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2

?
credential exam rate
?
Job placement
93.3%
Median of 23 Texas programs

Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.

What it costs

Lone Star College does not publish a total cost for this program. No program total or fixed itemized cost list from the school found Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 13 Texas sonography programs that publish a cost range from $4,810 to $50,193, with a median of $8,743.

What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around Houston

The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the Houston metro area is $95,100. 1 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other sonography programs in the Houston area

Compare all 8 sonography programs in the Houston area

Programcredential exam rateJob placementCost
Alvin College
AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Alvin
100%98.4%$8,743
Pima Medical Institute, Houston
Associate degree, general sonography, Houston
93.3%95.6%$50,193
San Jacinto College, Central
AAS, general sonography, Pasadena
71.9%85.0%$8,645 to $12,610
Galveston College
AAS, general sonography, Galveston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging
Certificate, general sonography, Bellaire
Not reportedNot reported$4,950
Houston City College, Coleman
AAS, general sonography, Houston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Lone Star College, CyFair (this page)
AAS, general sonography, Cypress
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Lone Star College, CyFair
AAS, cardiac sonography, Cypress
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).

StepFee
Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.3$275
Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).4$300
Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.5$365not counted

Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas

Program facts

Credential
AAS, general sonography
Entrance exam
Pegasus Ultrasound Student Assessment (USA) exam
Accreditation
JRC-DMS, Accredited by CAAHEP and JRC-DMS (one statement covers both CyFair sonography programs)
Leads to
ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Visit Lone Star College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
  2. Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
  3. Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  4. ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  5. CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy