Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging sonography program costs $4,950. Here is how its graduates do.
A certificate, general sonography program in Bellaire, 22 months (6 semesters).
We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.
The short version
- Its published cost is at or below the median for Texas sonography programs that publish one ($8,743).
- At 10% of the local median wage for diagnostic medical sonographers, the program cost is paid back in about 0.5 years.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How graduates do
JRC-DMS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3
Graduates who passed the ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams for their concentration, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS. Job placement: graduates employed in sonography, as the program reports it to JRC-DMS.
Where the money goes
Nine of every ten dollars goes to tuition, harris county resident, 6 semesters at $800. Other Texas residents $850 per semester, non-Texas $1,000 per semester. Books (about $500 to $1,500), uniforms, housing, transport and parking not included.
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| Tuition, Harris County resident, 6 semesters at $800 | $4,800 |
| Administrative fee | $150 |
| Total 1 | $4,950 |
* How we calculated this: We multiplied the per-semester tuition by the 6 semesters stated on the page and added the $150 administrative fee.
Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. Undated tuition schedule, Harris County resident.
What diagnostic medical sonographers earn around Houston
The median yearly wage for diagnostic medical sonographers in the Houston metro area is $95,100. 2 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.
Other sonography programs in the Houston area
Compare all 8 sonography programs in the Houston area
| Program | credential exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alvin College AAS, cardiovascular sonography, Alvin | 100% | 98.4% | $8,743 |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston Associate degree, general sonography, Houston | 93.3% | 95.6% | $50,193 |
| San Jacinto College, Central AAS, general sonography, Pasadena | 71.9% | 85.0% | $8,645 to $12,610 |
| Galveston College AAS, general sonography, Galveston | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging (this page) Certificate, general sonography, Bellaire | Not reported | Not reported | $4,950 |
| Houston City College, Coleman AAS, general sonography, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Lone Star College, CyFair AAS, general sonography, Cypress | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Lone Star College, CyFair AAS, cardiac sonography, Cypress | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
After you graduate: getting to work in Texas
Texas does not license sonographers. Employers typically require a national credential: ARDMS (the SPI exam plus a specialty exam, for RDMS, RDCS or RVT) or CCI (such as RCS).
| Step | Fee |
|---|---|
| Pass the ARDMS Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam.4 | $275 |
| Pass a specialty exam within five years of the SPI, for example Abdomen for the RDMS (AB).5 | $300 |
| Alternative for cardiac graduates: take the CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS) exam as a graduate of an accredited cardiac ultrasound program.6 | $365not counted |
Typical fees to start working: $575. Counts the ARDMS route to the RDMS in abdomen: SPI ($275) plus the abdomen exam ($300). The CCI cardiac route ($365) is an alternative. There is no state fee. ARDMS credentials renew annually ($105 for RDMS, RDCS, RVT) with CME over a three-year cycle; CCI credentials renew for $165 with 36 CEUs per three-year cycle after the first renewal. Full guide: how to become a sonographer in Texas
With Harris Health School of Diagnostic Medical Imaging's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $5,525, before prerequisites and living costs.
Program facts
- Credential
- Certificate, general sonography
- Length
- 22 months (6 semesters)
- Schedule
- Full time, weekdays 7 a.m. to 3 p.m., classes in Bellaire with clinicals in Houston
- Starts
- July
- Before you apply
- Associate degree with 2.5 GPA plus C or better in English, math, social science, anatomy and physiology, arts or humanities, physics and medical terminology.
- Accreditation
- JRC-DMS, Accredited by CAAHEP on recommendation of JRC-DMS
- Leads to
- ARDMS or CCI credentialing exams
Sources and dates
- Harris Health Sonography program page, Undated tuition schedule, Harris County resident.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (29-2032), May 2025 estimates.
- Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (JRC-DMS), checked Nov. 2026.
- Inteleos/ARDMS SPI Exam, checked Nov 2026.
- ARDMS AB Exam, checked Nov 2026.
- CCI Registered Cardiac Sonographer (RCS), checked Nov 2026.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or JRC-DMS. Our independence policy