Lone Star College, CyFair medical assistant program costs $7,000. Here is how its graduates do.
A certificate program in Cypress, 12 months full time after acceptance. 98.0% of its graduates passed a certification exam over 2020 to 2024.
Each campus reports its own outcomes to MAERB:
- CyFair (this page): 98.0% certification exam rate, 90.0% job placement
- North Harris: 84.4% certification exam rate, 93.2% job placement
The short version
- Its certification exam rate (98.0%) is above the Texas program median of 87.9%.
- 90.0% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by MAERB's measure.
- Its published cost is at or below the median for Texas medical assistant programs that publish one ($7,000).
- At 10% of the local median wage for medical assistants, the program cost is paid back in about 1.7 years.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How graduates do
MAERB requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 4
Graduates who passed a medical assistant certification exam, divided by graduates who took it, as the program reports it to MAERB. Most programs report a five-year average; some name the exam (CMA from the AAMA, or RMA from AMT) and some do not. Texas does not license medical assistants, but many employers require certification. Job placement: graduates employed as medical assistants or in a related field, as the program reports it to MAERB.
Where the money goes
The school's estimate. The page gives a single approximate figure with no breakdown. HESI exam ($64) and background check and drug screen are extra.
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| Approximate program cost (resident of district) | $7,000 |
| Total 1 | $7,000 |
Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. Approximate cost, resident of district (undated, live page).
What medical assistants earn around Houston
The median yearly wage for medical assistants in the Houston metro area is $42,110. 3 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.
Other medical assistant programs in the Houston area
Compare all 5 medical assistant programs in the Houston area
| Program | certification exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lone Star College, CyFair (this page) Certificate, Cypress | 98.0% | 90.0% | $7,000 |
| Houston City College, Coleman Certificate, Houston | 87.9% | Not reported | Not published |
| Lone Star College, North Harris Certificate, Houston | 84.4% | 93.2% | Not published |
| San Jacinto College, North Certificate, Houston | 71.0% | 74.0% | Not published |
| College of the Mainland Certificate, Texas City | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
After you graduate: getting to work in Texas
Texas does not license medical assistants. Many employers prefer a national certification such as the CMA (AAMA) or the RMA (AMT).
| Step | Fee |
|---|---|
| Graduate from (or finish coursework in) a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program, or qualify through the AAMA Alternative Pathway, and pass the CMA (AAMA) exam.5 | $125 |
| Alternative: take the AMT RMA exam via education (accredited program, 720 hours with 160 externship, graduated within 4 years), work experience, military, or instructor routes.6 | $150not counted |
Typical fees to start working: $125. Counts the CMA (AAMA) exam at the recent-graduate rate ($125). The RMA ($150) is an alternative. Certification is optional under Texas law. The CMA (AAMA) must be recertified every 60 months; the AMT RMA requires an annual fee ($75, rising to $85 from Feb 1, 2027) and 30 CCP points every three years. Full guide: how to become a medical assistant in Texas
With Lone Star College's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $7,125, before prerequisites and living costs.
Program facts
- Credential
- Certificate
- Length
- 12 months full time after acceptance
- Schedule
- Daytime cohort (Mon to Fri) and an evening hybrid cohort (Mon to Thu, 6 to 10 pm)
- Starts
- Fall 2027 daytime and Spring 2027 evening hybrid cohorts
- Before you apply
- Declared Medical Assisting major, information session, HESI exam and advisor checklist; no prerequisite courses listed.
- Entrance exam
- HESI exam ($64)
- Accreditation
- MAERB, Accredited (CAAHEP, on MAERB recommendation)
- Leads to
- a national medical assistant certification exam (CMA, RMA or similar)
Sources and dates
- Lone Star College-CyFair Medical Assisting department page, Approximate cost, resident of district (undated, live page).
- Lone Star College, CyFair program outcomes page, Department page states 5-year averages for 2020 to 2024; the linked 2025 ARF PDF could not be fetched.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Medical Assistants (31-9092), May 2025 estimates.
- Medical Assisting Education Review Board (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (MAERB), checked Nov. 2026.
- AAMA CMA (AAMA) Certification Exam Application and Policies, Form Rev 1-26 (January 2026).
- AMT Registered Medical Assistant (RMA), checked Nov 2026.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or MAERB. Our independence policy