Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

San Jacinto College, South PTA program: pass rate, jobs and local pay

An AAS program in Houston, 2 years, five terms (66 credits). 90.6% of its graduates passed the NPTE-PTA on the first try over 2024 to 2025.

Physical therapist assistant · AAS · Houston, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Total cost
NPTE first-try rate
90.6%
2024 to 2025 1
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$77,280
Median, Houston 2

The short version

  • Its NPTE-PTA rate (90.6%) is close to the Texas program median of 90.4%.
  • 90.6% passed on the first try, and the program reports 100% passing after retakes, so a meaningful share of its graduates needed a second attempt.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

CAPTE requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3

90.6%
NPTE-PTA first-try pass rate, 2024 and 2025 graduates (FSBPT)
?
Job placement
100%
Passed on any attempt (ultimate rate, program report)
90.4%
Median of 29 Texas programs

Graduates who passed the NPTE-PTA licensing exam on their first try, as a two-year average for 2024 and 2025 graduates, published by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT). Where a program also publishes its ultimate pass rate (including retakes), it is shown separately. Job placement: graduates who sought work as a PTA and were employed within a year of passing the exam, as the program reports it.

What it costs

San Jacinto College does not publish a total cost for this program. The program's approximate total costs PDF and financial fact sheet are disallowed by robots.txt and were not read. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 16 Texas PTA programs that publish a cost range from $6,955 to $45,845, with a median of $10,477.

What physical therapist assistants earn around Houston

The median yearly wage for physical therapist assistants in the Houston metro area is $77,280. 2 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other PTA programs in the Houston area

Compare all 5 PTA programs in the Houston area

ProgramNPTE-PTA rateJob placementCost
Lone Star College, Montgomery
AAS, Conroe
96.1%100%Not published
Houston City College
AAS, Houston
92.2%Not reportedNot published
San Jacinto College, South (this page)
AAS, Houston
90.6%Not reportedNot published
Wharton County Junior College
AAS, Wharton
77.3%100%Not published
Pima Medical Institute, Houston
AAS, Houston
73.0%96.7%$44,620

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas requires a PTA license issued by the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. Applicants must pass the NPTE for PTAs (run by FSBPT), pass the Texas jurisprudence exam (TX JAM), and complete a fingerprint background check.

StepFee
Apply online to the Texas PT Board for a PTA license by exam and pay the application fee.4Not published
Register with FSBPT for the NPTE-PTA after the school verifies graduation, selecting Texas.5$485
Pay the FSBPT card processing fee.6$8
Reserve a seat with Prometric and take the exam.7$92
Pass the Texas Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM) online.8Free
Send an official transcript and passport photo and complete fingerprinting (SSN required from Sept 1, 2026).9Not published
Optional: request a temporary license after applying.10$60not counted

Typical fees to start working: $585. Counts the NPTE-PTA ($485), FSBPT's card processing fee (about $8) and the Prometric seat fee ($92). The Texas license application fee and fingerprinting are extra; we could not confirm the current state fee. Texas PTA licenses renew every two years by the end of the birth month and require 20 continuing competence units, including the board jurisprudence module, under 22 TAC 341.1 and 341.2. Full guide: how to become a physical therapist assistant in Texas

Program facts

Credential
AAS
Length
2 years, five terms (66 credits)
Schedule
Full time, classroom, lab and clinical
Starts
Fall, August (applications Oct 1, 2026 to Mar 1, 2027; 24 seats)
Before you apply
ENGL 1301, a math course, A&P I and A&P II with a C or better; one may be in progress.
Entrance exam
HESI A2 (required starting with the 2026-2027 cycle)
Accreditation
CAPTE, Accredited (initial 05/1998; next visit Spring 2033)
Leads to
National Physical Therapy Examination for PTAs (NPTE-PTA) and a Texas license
Visit San Jacinto College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. San Jacinto College, South program outcomes page, Program admission page by class: 2024 first-time 92.9%, ultimate 100%, graduation 58%, employment 100%; 2025 first-time 88.9%, ultimate 100%, graduation 75%, employment 88.9%. The page's stated 2-year averages (100% each) do not match the class rows, so graduation and employment are left out; ultimate is 100% in both years..
  2. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Physical Therapist Assistants (31-2021), May 2025 estimates.
  3. Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE), checked Nov. 2026.
  4. Texas PT Board, Apply by Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  5. FSBPT Exam Registration and Payment, checked Nov 2026.
  6. FSBPT Exam Registration and Payment, checked Nov 2026.
  7. FSBPT NPTE Candidate Handbook, Exam Registration and Scheduling, checked Nov 2026.
  8. Texas PT Board, TX JAM, checked Nov 2026.
  9. Texas PT Board, Apply by Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  10. Texas PT Board, Temporary License, checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or CAPTE. Our independence policy