Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Pima Medical Institute, Houston PTA program costs $44,620. Here is how its graduates do.

An AAS program in Houston. 73.0% of its graduates passed the NPTE-PTA on the first try over 2024 to 2025.

Physical therapist assistant · AAS · Houston, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Total cost
$44,620
School estimate 1
NPTE first-try rate
73.0%
2024 to 2025 2
Job placement
96.7%
Program's own report 2
Payback time
5.8 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$77,280
Median, Houston 3

The short version

  • Its NPTE-PTA rate (73.0%) is below the Texas program median of 90.4%.
  • 73.0% passed on the first try, and the program reports 96.8% passing after retakes, so a meaningful share of its graduates needed a second attempt.
  • 96.7% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by CAPTE's measure.
  • 84.7% of students who started finished the program.
  • Its published cost is above the median for Texas PTA programs that publish one ($10,477).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for physical therapist assistants, the program cost is paid back in about 5.8 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

CAPTE requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 4

73.0%
NPTE-PTA first-try pass rate, 2024 and 2025 graduates (FSBPT)
96.7%
Job placement
96.8%
Passed on any attempt (ultimate rate, program report)
84.7%
Program completion
90.4%
Median of 29 Texas programs

Graduates who passed the NPTE-PTA licensing exam on their first try, as a two-year average for 2024 and 2025 graduates, published by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT). Where a program also publishes its ultimate pass rate (including retakes), it is shown separately. Job placement: graduates who sought work as a PTA and were employed within a year of passing the exam, as the program reports it.

Where the money goes

The school's estimate. Single stated total; Pima does not itemize it. Taxes may vary by residence.

ItemCost
Total program cost, Houston (includes textbooks, lab supplies, tax, technology fee and uniforms)$44,620
Total 1$44,620

Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. Listed as current Houston total program cost (file posted June 2025).

What physical therapist assistants earn around Houston

The median yearly wage for physical therapist assistants in the Houston metro area is $77,280. 3 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other PTA programs in the Houston area

Compare all 5 PTA programs in the Houston area

ProgramNPTE-PTA rateJob placementCost
Lone Star College, Montgomery
AAS, Conroe
96.1%100%Not published
Houston City College
AAS, Houston
92.2%Not reportedNot published
San Jacinto College, South
AAS, Houston
90.6%Not reportedNot published
Wharton County Junior College
AAS, Wharton
77.3%100%Not published
Pima Medical Institute, Houston (this page)
AAS, Houston
73.0%96.7%$44,620

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas requires a PTA license issued by the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. Applicants must pass the NPTE for PTAs (run by FSBPT), pass the Texas jurisprudence exam (TX JAM), and complete a fingerprint background check.

StepFee
Apply online to the Texas PT Board for a PTA license by exam and pay the application fee.5Not published
Register with FSBPT for the NPTE-PTA after the school verifies graduation, selecting Texas.6$485
Pay the FSBPT card processing fee.7$8
Reserve a seat with Prometric and take the exam.8$92
Pass the Texas Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM) online.9Free
Send an official transcript and passport photo and complete fingerprinting (SSN required from Sept 1, 2026).10Not published
Optional: request a temporary license after applying.11$60not counted

Typical fees to start working: $585. Counts the NPTE-PTA ($485), FSBPT's card processing fee (about $8) and the Prometric seat fee ($92). The Texas license application fee and fingerprinting are extra; we could not confirm the current state fee. Texas PTA licenses renew every two years by the end of the birth month and require 20 continuing competence units, including the board jurisprudence module, under 22 TAC 341.1 and 341.2. Full guide: how to become a physical therapist assistant in Texas

With Pima Medical Institute's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $45,205, before prerequisites and living costs.

Program facts

Credential
AAS
Before you apply
Not confirmed; the Pima program page could not be fetched.
Accreditation
CAPTE, Accredited (initial 02/2014; next visit Spring 2029)
Leads to
National Physical Therapy Examination for PTAs (NPTE-PTA) and a Texas license
Visit Pima Medical Institute's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. Pima Medical Institute Additional Tuition Disclosure, PTA, Listed as current Houston total program cost (file posted June 2025).
  2. Pima Medical Institute, Houston program outcomes page, Pima PTA website outcomes (updated 11/14/2025), Houston, 2-year averages for Jan 1 to Dec 31 of 2023 and 2024: graduation 84.72%, first-time 83.87%, ultimate 96.77%, employment 96.67%..
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Physical Therapist Assistants (31-2021), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE), checked Nov. 2026.
  5. Texas PT Board, Apply by Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  6. FSBPT Exam Registration and Payment, checked Nov 2026.
  7. FSBPT Exam Registration and Payment, checked Nov 2026.
  8. FSBPT NPTE Candidate Handbook, Exam Registration and Scheduling, checked Nov 2026.
  9. Texas PT Board, TX JAM, checked Nov 2026.
  10. Texas PT Board, Apply by Exam, checked Nov 2026.
  11. Texas PT Board, Temporary License, checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or CAPTE. Our independence policy