Kilgore College surgical technology program: pass rate, jobs and local pay
An AAS program in Kilgore, 60 credit hours. 8 of its 13 graduates passed the CST exam over FA 2025 reporting term.
The short version
- Its CST exam rate (62.0%) is below the Texas program median of 92.5%.
- 79.0% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by ARC/STSA's measure.
- 74.0% of students stayed in the program, by ARC/STSA's retention measure.
- That is below the 70% CST pass rate threshold ARC/STSA sets for accredited programs.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How graduates do
ARC/STSA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3
Graduates who passed the CST certification exam, divided by graduates who took it, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA. Every graduate of an accredited program must sit for the exam. Job placement: graduates employed in surgical technology or a related field, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA.
What it costs
Kilgore College does not publish a total cost for this program. Program page lists no program costs Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 6 Texas surgical technology programs that publish a cost range from $395 to $5,940, with a median of $2,315.
What surgical technologists earn in Texas
The median yearly wage for surgical technologists in Texas is $65,220. The federal survey does not publish a figure for the Tyler-Longview area, so we use the statewide number. 2 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.
Other surgical technology programs in the Tyler-Longview area
Compare all 2 surgical technology programs in the Tyler-Longview area
| Program | CST exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kilgore College (this page) AAS, Kilgore | 62.0% | 79.0% | Not published |
| Tyler Junior College AAS, Tyler | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
After you graduate: getting to work in Texas
Texas has no state license or registration for surgical technologists. Under Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, a licensed or state-run health care facility may only employ someone to practice surgical technology who completed an accredited program and holds current certification from the NBSTSA, the National Center for Competency Testing, or another approved program (with exceptions for military training, pre-Sept 2009 employment, federal service, and documented hiring shortages).
| Step | Fee |
|---|---|
| Graduate from a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program to be eligible for the CST exam.4 | Not published |
| Apply to NBSTSA and pass the Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam.5 | $340 |
| Start work: a new graduate may be employed for up to 180 days after graduation, then must show the employer proof of certification.6 | Not published |
| Keep certification current; certified technologists must complete the CE their certifying body requires, and others practicing under an exception need 30 hours every two years.7 | Not published |
Typical fees to start working: $340. Counts the CST exam at the non-member price ($340); members of the Association of Surgical Technologists pay $230. There is no state fee. NBSTSA CST certification runs on a two-year cycle requiring 30 CE credits (4 live) and a $40 renewal fee; Texas law requires certified technologists to keep that certification current. Full guide: how to become a surgical technologist in Texas
Program facts
- Credential
- AAS
- Length
- 60 credit hours
- Starts
- Fall and Spring
- Accreditation
- ARC/STSA, Initial accreditation (CAAHEP), awarded June 20, 2024
- Leads to
- NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam
Sources and dates
- Kilgore College program outcomes page, Outcomes tracking PDF (March 2026) lists FA 2023 (8/12), SP 2024 (6/10), FA 2025 (8/13), SP 2025 (3/5) and SU 2025 (5/7).
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Surgical Technologists (29-2055), May 2025 estimates.
- Accreditation Review Council on Education in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (ARC/STSA), checked Nov. 2026.
- NBSTSA CST Eligibility, checked Nov 2026.
- NBSTSA 2025 CST Examination Application, 2025 application form, still the posted version when checked Nov 2026.
- Texas Legislature, HB 643 (81R) enrolled text adding Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, Enacted 2009; current statute page could not be loaded.
- Texas Legislature, SB 1239 (86R) enrolled text amending Sec. 259.002, Effective Sept 1, 2019.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or ARC/STSA. Our independence policy