Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

College of the Mainland surgical technology program costs $2,315. Here is how its graduates do.

An AAS program in Texas City, 60 credit hours; 3 semesters after acceptance.

Surgical technology · AAS · Texas City, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.

Total cost
$2,315*
School estimate 1
CST pass rate
Job placement
Payback time
0.3 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$71,050
Median, Houston 2

The short version

  • Its published cost is at or below the median for Texas surgical technology programs that publish one ($2,315).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for surgical technologists, the program cost is paid back in about 0.3 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

ARC/STSA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3

?
CST exam rate
?
Job placement
92.5%
Median of 20 Texas programs

Graduates who passed the CST certification exam, divided by graduates who took it, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA. Every graduate of an accredited program must sit for the exam. Job placement: graduates employed in surgical technology or a related field, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA.

Where the money goes

About half of every dollar goes to offsite parking (three semesters). Tuition is listed separately as $1,155 per semester (15 credit hours, in-district) and is not included. Clinical site onboarding fees may apply.

ItemCost
Uniforms (3 sets)$225
Patches (3)$45
BLS (American Heart)$70
Background and drug screening$79
Immunizations and physical$300
NBSTSA board review$179
AST membership, study guide and NBSTSA exam fee$247
Offsite parking (three semesters)$1,170
Total 1$2,315

* How we calculated this: The school's stated estimated clinical costs only; tuition not included.

Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. Estimated clinical costs (undated, live page).

What surgical technologists earn around Houston

The median yearly wage for surgical technologists in the Houston metro area is $71,050. 2 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other surgical technology programs in the Houston area

Compare all 7 surgical technology programs in the Houston area

ProgramCST exam rateJob placementCost
Houston City College
AAS, Houston
100%Not reportedNot published
Lone Star College, Tomball
AAS, Tomball
95.0%Not reportedNot published
Galveston College
AAS, Galveston
63.0%Not reportedNot published
College of the Mainland (this page)
AAS, Texas City
Not reportedNot reported$2,315
San Jacinto College, Central
AAS, Pasadena
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Fortis College, Houston South
Degree (level not named on program page), Houston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
The College of Health Care Professions, Houston
AAS, Houston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas has no state license or registration for surgical technologists. Under Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, a licensed or state-run health care facility may only employ someone to practice surgical technology who completed an accredited program and holds current certification from the NBSTSA, the National Center for Competency Testing, or another approved program (with exceptions for military training, pre-Sept 2009 employment, federal service, and documented hiring shortages).

StepFee
Graduate from a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program to be eligible for the CST exam.4Not published
Apply to NBSTSA and pass the Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam.5$340
Start work: a new graduate may be employed for up to 180 days after graduation, then must show the employer proof of certification.6Not published
Keep certification current; certified technologists must complete the CE their certifying body requires, and others practicing under an exception need 30 hours every two years.7Not published

Typical fees to start working: $340. Counts the CST exam at the non-member price ($340); members of the Association of Surgical Technologists pay $230. There is no state fee. NBSTSA CST certification runs on a two-year cycle requiring 30 CE credits (4 live) and a $40 renewal fee; Texas law requires certified technologists to keep that certification current. Full guide: how to become a surgical technologist in Texas

With College of the Mainland's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $2,655, before prerequisites and living costs.

Program facts

Credential
AAS
Length
60 credit hours; 3 semesters after acceptance
Schedule
In person with some online parts
Starts
Next start Aug 21, 2027 (applications Mar 1 to Jun 1, 2027)
Before you apply
ENGL 1301, BIOL 2401, HITT 1305, SPCH 1318 and PSYC 2301 or 2314 with a C or better.
Entrance exam
HESI A2, 75% or higher in Math, Reading, Vocabulary, Grammar and A&P
Accreditation
ARC/STSA, Accredited (CAAHEP)
Leads to
NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam
Visit College of the Mainland's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. College of the Mainland Surgical Technology program page, Estimated clinical costs (undated, live page).
  2. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Surgical Technologists (29-2055), May 2025 estimates.
  3. Accreditation Review Council on Education in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (ARC/STSA), checked Nov. 2026.
  4. NBSTSA CST Eligibility, checked Nov 2026.
  5. NBSTSA 2025 CST Examination Application, 2025 application form, still the posted version when checked Nov 2026.
  6. Texas Legislature, HB 643 (81R) enrolled text adding Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, Enacted 2009; current statute page could not be loaded.
  7. Texas Legislature, SB 1239 (86R) enrolled text amending Sec. 259.002, Effective Sept 1, 2019.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or ARC/STSA. Our independence policy