Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

San Jacinto College, Central surgical technology program: pass rate, jobs and local pay

An AAS program in Pasadena, 2 years, 60 credits over 4 terms including a prerequisite term.

Surgical technology · AAS · Pasadena, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.

Total cost
CST pass rate
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$71,050
Median, Houston 1

How graduates do

ARC/STSA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2

?
CST exam rate
?
Job placement
92.5%
Median of 20 Texas programs

Graduates who passed the CST certification exam, divided by graduates who took it, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA. Every graduate of an accredited program must sit for the exam. Job placement: graduates employed in surgical technology or a related field, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA.

What it costs

San Jacinto College does not publish a total cost for this program. Program page states no costs Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 6 Texas surgical technology programs that publish a cost range from $395 to $5,940, with a median of $2,315.

What surgical technologists earn around Houston

The median yearly wage for surgical technologists in the Houston metro area is $71,050. 1 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other surgical technology programs in the Houston area

Compare all 7 surgical technology programs in the Houston area

ProgramCST exam rateJob placementCost
Houston City College
AAS, Houston
100%Not reportedNot published
Lone Star College, Tomball
AAS, Tomball
95.0%Not reportedNot published
Galveston College
AAS, Galveston
63.0%Not reportedNot published
College of the Mainland
AAS, Texas City
Not reportedNot reported$2,315
San Jacinto College, Central (this page)
AAS, Pasadena
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
Fortis College, Houston South
Degree (level not named on program page), Houston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published
The College of Health Care Professions, Houston
AAS, Houston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas has no state license or registration for surgical technologists. Under Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, a licensed or state-run health care facility may only employ someone to practice surgical technology who completed an accredited program and holds current certification from the NBSTSA, the National Center for Competency Testing, or another approved program (with exceptions for military training, pre-Sept 2009 employment, federal service, and documented hiring shortages).

StepFee
Graduate from a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program to be eligible for the CST exam.3Not published
Apply to NBSTSA and pass the Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam.4$340
Start work: a new graduate may be employed for up to 180 days after graduation, then must show the employer proof of certification.5Not published
Keep certification current; certified technologists must complete the CE their certifying body requires, and others practicing under an exception need 30 hours every two years.6Not published

Typical fees to start working: $340. Counts the CST exam at the non-member price ($340); members of the Association of Surgical Technologists pay $230. There is no state fee. NBSTSA CST certification runs on a two-year cycle requiring 30 CE credits (4 live) and a $40 renewal fee; Texas law requires certified technologists to keep that certification current. Full guide: how to become a surgical technologist in Texas

Program facts

Credential
AAS
Length
2 years, 60 credits over 4 terms including a prerequisite term
Schedule
Full time
Accreditation
ARC/STSA, Accredited (CAAHEP Find a Program, Nov. 2026); a reaccreditation visit is scheduled
Leads to
NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam
Visit San Jacinto College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Surgical Technologists (29-2055), May 2025 estimates.
  2. Accreditation Review Council on Education in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (ARC/STSA), checked Nov. 2026.
  3. NBSTSA CST Eligibility, checked Nov 2026.
  4. NBSTSA 2025 CST Examination Application, 2025 application form, still the posted version when checked Nov 2026.
  5. Texas Legislature, HB 643 (81R) enrolled text adding Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, Enacted 2009; current statute page could not be loaded.
  6. Texas Legislature, SB 1239 (86R) enrolled text amending Sec. 259.002, Effective Sept 1, 2019.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or ARC/STSA. Our independence policy