Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Tarrant County College, Trinity River East surgical technology program costs $4,440. Here is how its graduates do.

An AAS program in Fort Worth, 60 credit hours. 93.0% of its graduates passed the CST exam in 2025.

Surgical technology · AAS · Fort Worth, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Total cost
$4,440
School estimate 1
CST pass rate
93.0%
2025 2
Job placement
Payback time
0.6 yrs
At 10% of local pay
Local wage
$79,990
Median, Fort Worth 3

The short version

  • Its CST exam rate (93.0%) is close to the Texas program median of 92.5%.
  • Its published cost is above the median for Texas surgical technology programs that publish one ($2,315).
  • At 10% of the local median wage for surgical technologists, the program cost is paid back in about 0.6 years.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How graduates do

ARC/STSA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 4

93.0%
CST exam pass rate, 2025 (NBSTSA data as posted; counts not published)
?
Job placement
96.0%
Retention (students who stayed in the program)
92.5%
Median of 20 Texas programs

Graduates who passed the CST certification exam, divided by graduates who took it, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA. Every graduate of an accredited program must sit for the exam. Job placement: graduates employed in surgical technology or a related field, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA.

Where the money goes

The school's estimate. Excludes textbooks and other materials.

ItemCost
Total tuition and fees, AAS (60 credit hours, in-county)$4,440
Total 1$4,440

Not included: living costs. 2026-2027, in-state in-county.

What surgical technologists earn around Fort Worth

The median yearly wage for surgical technologists in the Fort Worth metro area is $79,990. 3 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other surgical technology programs in the Fort Worth area

Compare all 2 surgical technology programs in the Fort Worth area

ProgramCST exam rateJob placementCost
North Central Texas College
AAS, Gainesville
94.0%Not reportedNot published
Tarrant County College, Trinity River East (this page)
AAS, Fort Worth
93.0%Not reported$4,440

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas has no state license or registration for surgical technologists. Under Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, a licensed or state-run health care facility may only employ someone to practice surgical technology who completed an accredited program and holds current certification from the NBSTSA, the National Center for Competency Testing, or another approved program (with exceptions for military training, pre-Sept 2009 employment, federal service, and documented hiring shortages).

StepFee
Graduate from a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program to be eligible for the CST exam.5Not published
Apply to NBSTSA and pass the Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam.6$340
Start work: a new graduate may be employed for up to 180 days after graduation, then must show the employer proof of certification.7Not published
Keep certification current; certified technologists must complete the CE their certifying body requires, and others practicing under an exception need 30 hours every two years.8Not published

Typical fees to start working: $340. Counts the CST exam at the non-member price ($340); members of the Association of Surgical Technologists pay $230. There is no state fee. NBSTSA CST certification runs on a two-year cycle requiring 30 CE credits (4 live) and a $40 renewal fee; Texas law requires certified technologists to keep that certification current. Full guide: how to become a surgical technologist in Texas

With Tarrant County College's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $4,780, before prerequisites and living costs.

Program facts

Credential
AAS
Length
60 credit hours
Accreditation
ARC/STSA, Accredited (CAAHEP, through ARC/STSA)
Leads to
NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam
Visit Tarrant County College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. TCC Surgical Technology program page, 2026-2027, in-state in-county.
  2. Tarrant County College, Trinity River East program outcomes page, Program page lists 2020 to 2025 pass and retention rates; employment rates through 2024 (2024: 96%).
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Surgical Technologists (29-2055), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Accreditation Review Council on Education in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (ARC/STSA), checked Nov. 2026.
  5. NBSTSA CST Eligibility, checked Nov 2026.
  6. NBSTSA 2025 CST Examination Application, 2025 application form, still the posted version when checked Nov 2026.
  7. Texas Legislature, HB 643 (81R) enrolled text adding Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, Enacted 2009; current statute page could not be loaded.
  8. Texas Legislature, SB 1239 (86R) enrolled text amending Sec. 259.002, Effective Sept 1, 2019.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or ARC/STSA. Our independence policy