Collin College surgical technology program costs $3,416 to $3,441. Here is how its graduates do.
An AAS program in McKinney, 12 months after prerequisites (summer, fall, spring); 60 credit hours.
We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.
The short version
- Its published cost is above the median for Texas surgical technology programs that publish one ($2,315).
- At 10% of the local median wage for surgical technologists, the program cost is paid back in about 0.4 years.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How graduates do
ARC/STSA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3
Graduates who passed the CST certification exam, divided by graduates who took it, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA. Every graduate of an accredited program must sit for the exam. Job placement: graduates employed in surgical technology or a related field, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA.
Where the money goes
Three of every four dollars goes to in-program tuition (collin county resident). Out-of-county tuition is $3,937. Lab fees are extra and not priced. High end uses $50 scrubs.
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| In-program tuition (Collin County resident) | $2,777 |
| Book bundle (Cengage Unlimited) | $229 |
| Scrubs (one set, low end of $25 to $50) | $25 |
| Clinical readiness (background check, drug screen, immunization tracking) | $135 |
| Certification exam package | $250 |
| Total 1 | $3,416 |
* How we calculated this: Total added up by us from the page's listed items; lab fees not included.
Not included: prerequisite courses and living costs. Estimated program costs, Collin County residents (undated, live page).
What surgical technologists earn around Dallas
The median yearly wage for surgical technologists in the Dallas metro area is $79,990. 2 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.
Other surgical technology programs in the Dallas area
Compare all 3 surgical technology programs in the Dallas area
| Program | CST exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dallas College, El Centro AAS, Dallas | 82.0% | Not reported | $5,940 |
| Collin College (this page) AAS, McKinney | Not reported | Not reported | $3,416 to $3,441 |
| Trinity Valley Community College, Health Science Center AAS, Terrell | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
After you graduate: getting to work in Texas
Texas has no state license or registration for surgical technologists. Under Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, a licensed or state-run health care facility may only employ someone to practice surgical technology who completed an accredited program and holds current certification from the NBSTSA, the National Center for Competency Testing, or another approved program (with exceptions for military training, pre-Sept 2009 employment, federal service, and documented hiring shortages).
| Step | Fee |
|---|---|
| Graduate from a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program to be eligible for the CST exam.4 | Not published |
| Apply to NBSTSA and pass the Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam.5 | $340 |
| Start work: a new graduate may be employed for up to 180 days after graduation, then must show the employer proof of certification.6 | Not published |
| Keep certification current; certified technologists must complete the CE their certifying body requires, and others practicing under an exception need 30 hours every two years.7 | Not published |
Typical fees to start working: $340. Counts the CST exam at the non-member price ($340); members of the Association of Surgical Technologists pay $230. There is no state fee. NBSTSA CST certification runs on a two-year cycle requiring 30 CE credits (4 live) and a $40 renewal fee; Texas law requires certified technologists to keep that certification current. Full guide: how to become a surgical technologist in Texas
With Collin College's published cost, the total to finish school and get credentialed is about $3,756, before prerequisites and living costs.
Program facts
- Credential
- AAS
- Length
- 12 months after prerequisites (summer, fall, spring); 60 credit hours
- Starts
- May (May 2026 start; deadline Feb 13, 2026)
- Before you apply
- BIOL 2401, ENGL 1301, HPRS 1204, SPCH 1311, BIOL 2402, HITT 1305, PSYC 2301 and one humanities course.
- Entrance exam
- None; interview with program staff
- Accreditation
- ARC/STSA, Accredited (CAAHEP)
- Leads to
- NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam
Sources and dates
- Collin College Surgical Technology page, Estimated program costs, Collin County residents (undated, live page).
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Surgical Technologists (29-2055), May 2025 estimates.
- Accreditation Review Council on Education in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (ARC/STSA), checked Nov. 2026.
- NBSTSA CST Eligibility, checked Nov 2026.
- NBSTSA 2025 CST Examination Application, 2025 application form, still the posted version when checked Nov 2026.
- Texas Legislature, HB 643 (81R) enrolled text adding Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, Enacted 2009; current statute page could not be loaded.
- Texas Legislature, SB 1239 (86R) enrolled text amending Sec. 259.002, Effective Sept 1, 2019.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or ARC/STSA. Our independence policy