Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Trinity Valley Community College, Health Science Center surgical technology program: pass rate, jobs and local pay

An AAS program in Terrell, Two years, 60 credit hours (current catalog).

Surgical technology · AAS · Terrell, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.

Total cost
CST pass rate
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$79,990
Median, Dallas 1

How graduates do

ARC/STSA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2

?
CST exam rate
?
Job placement
92.5%
Median of 20 Texas programs

Graduates who passed the CST certification exam, divided by graduates who took it, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA. Every graduate of an accredited program must sit for the exam. Job placement: graduates employed in surgical technology or a related field, as the program reports it to ARC/STSA.

What it costs

Trinity Valley Community College does not publish a total cost for this program. Only an approximate $7,000 in-district figure on an older page that conflicts with the current catalog Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 6 Texas surgical technology programs that publish a cost range from $395 to $5,940, with a median of $2,315.

What surgical technologists earn around Dallas

The median yearly wage for surgical technologists in the Dallas metro area is $79,990. 1 Payback time sets aside 10% of that each year toward the program cost.

Other surgical technology programs in the Dallas area

Compare all 3 surgical technology programs in the Dallas area

ProgramCST exam rateJob placementCost
Dallas College, El Centro
AAS, Dallas
82.0%Not reported$5,940
Collin College
AAS, McKinney
Not reportedNot reported$3,416 to $3,441
Trinity Valley Community College, Health Science Center (this page)
AAS, Terrell
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After you graduate: getting to work in Texas

Texas has no state license or registration for surgical technologists. Under Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, a licensed or state-run health care facility may only employ someone to practice surgical technology who completed an accredited program and holds current certification from the NBSTSA, the National Center for Competency Testing, or another approved program (with exceptions for military training, pre-Sept 2009 employment, federal service, and documented hiring shortages).

StepFee
Graduate from a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program to be eligible for the CST exam.3Not published
Apply to NBSTSA and pass the Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam.4$340
Start work: a new graduate may be employed for up to 180 days after graduation, then must show the employer proof of certification.5Not published
Keep certification current; certified technologists must complete the CE their certifying body requires, and others practicing under an exception need 30 hours every two years.6Not published

Typical fees to start working: $340. Counts the CST exam at the non-member price ($340); members of the Association of Surgical Technologists pay $230. There is no state fee. NBSTSA CST certification runs on a two-year cycle requiring 30 CE credits (4 live) and a $40 renewal fee; Texas law requires certified technologists to keep that certification current. Full guide: how to become a surgical technologist in Texas

Program facts

Credential
AAS
Length
Two years, 60 credit hours (current catalog)
Starts
Fall
Entrance exam
HESI A2 (Reading 79%, Math 75%, Grammar 75%) and TSI
Accreditation
ARC/STSA, Accredited (CAAHEP)
Leads to
NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) exam
Visit Trinity Valley Community College's program page ↗

Sources and dates

  1. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Surgical Technologists (29-2055), May 2025 estimates.
  2. Accreditation Review Council on Education in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (programs accredited by CAAHEP) (ARC/STSA), checked Nov. 2026.
  3. NBSTSA CST Eligibility, checked Nov 2026.
  4. NBSTSA 2025 CST Examination Application, 2025 application form, still the posted version when checked Nov 2026.
  5. Texas Legislature, HB 643 (81R) enrolled text adding Health and Safety Code Chapter 259, Enacted 2009; current statute page could not be loaded.
  6. Texas Legislature, SB 1239 (86R) enrolled text amending Sec. 259.002, Effective Sept 1, 2019.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or ARC/STSA. Our independence policy