Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Online Medical Lab Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay

A certificate, MLS program in Lubbock, 12 months, 35 hours. 97.0% of its graduates passed the certification exam in 2025.

Medical laboratory science · Certificate, MLS · Lubbock, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center also runs a MLS track (93.0% certification exam rate).

Total cost
Certification pass rate
97.0%
2025 1
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$61,490
Median, Lubbock 2

The Short Version

  • Its certification exam rate (97.0%) is above the Texas program median of 90.0%.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How Graduates Do

NAACLS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3

97.0%
ASCP BOC MLS exam pass rate, 2025
?
Job placement
90.0%
Median of 29 Texas programs
YearCertification pass rate
202597.0%
202495.0%
202393.0%

Graduates who passed a medical laboratory certification exam (usually the ASCP Board of Certification exam), as the program publishes it for NAACLS. Programs report a three-year figure or yearly rates; where only yearly rates are published we show the newest year rather than averaging them. Job placement: graduates who found jobs in the field or continued their education, as the program reports it to NAACLS.

What It Costs

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center does not publish a total cost for this program. No cost figures on the program page. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 5 Texas medical lab programs that publish a cost range from $845 to $11,000, with a median of $9,730.

Jobs and Pay in the Lubbock Area

$61,490
Median pay, Lubbock area 4
$44,060 to $79,380
What the middle half earns
430
Clinical laboratory technologists and technicians employed, Lubbock area
2,450
Openings a year in Texas, 2024 to 2034 5

About 430 clinical laboratory technologists and technicians work in the Lubbock area. The middle half earn between $44,060 and $79,380 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,450 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 15.6% (from 29,740 to 34,380).

Other Medical Lab Programs in the Lubbock Area

Compare all 2 medical lab programs in the Lubbock area

Programcertification exam rateJob placementCost
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Online (this page)
Certificate, MLS, Lubbock
97.0%Not reportedNot published
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Lubbock
BS, MLS, Lubbock
93.0%Not reportedNot published

Program Facts

Credential
Certificate, MLS
Length
12 months, 35 hours
Schedule
Online hybrid with two six-day on-site lab sessions and a clinical preceptorship
Starts
Fall (applications Dec 1 to May 1)
Before you apply
Bachelor's degree required; prerequisites differ for the certificate and second degree and are on the admissions page.
Entrance exam
None stated
Accreditation
NAACLS, Accredited (NAACLS; dates not shown)
Leads to
ASCP Board of Certification (BOC) exam, MLT or MLS
Visit Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center's program page ↗

Sources and Dates

  1. Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Online program outcomes page, Second degree and certificate page; graduation 95%, 97%, 94%; employment 99%, 100%, 97% (means worked out by us). Same coursework leads to a second BS or a post-baccalaureate certificate..
  2. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians (29-2010), May 2025 estimates.
  3. National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS), checked Nov. 2026.
  4. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
  5. Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or NAACLS. Our independence policy