Texas Dental Hygiene Programs: Who Passes, Who Gets Hired, and What It Costs
Dental hygienists clean teeth, take X-rays and screen for gum disease and oral cancer. Texas programs are mostly two- to three-year associate degrees, plus a few bachelor's degrees, and lead to the national board exam, a clinical exam and a Texas license. Below is every CODA-accredited program in Texas we could confirm, with the outcomes each one reports. Data checked Nov. 4, 2026.
Every Program, Highest NBDHE Rate First
Rates are multi-year averages as each program reports them to CODA, so small programs are not swung by one class. Tap a program for its cost, job placement and sources.
| Program | NBDHE rate | Job placement | Completion | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Community College AAS, Austin | 100% | 100% | Not reported | Not published |
| Houston City College AAS, Houston | 100% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Amarillo College AAS, Amarillo | 93.0% | Not reported | 95.0% | $13,670 |
| UT San Antonio, School of Dentistry BS, San Antonio | 90.0% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Blinn College AAS, Bryan | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $25,000 |
| Coastal Bend College AAS, Beeville | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $9,070 |
| College of the Mainland AAS, Texas City | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $8,686 to $9,436 |
| Collin College, Central Park AAS, McKinney | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Concorde Career College, Dallas AAS, Dallas | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Concorde Career College, Grand Prairie AAS, Grand Prairie | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Concorde Career College, San Antonio AAS, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Dallas College, El Centro AAS, Dallas | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $5,940 |
| Del Mar College AAS, Corpus Christi | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| El Paso Community College AAS, El Paso | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $16,800 |
| Howard College AAS, Big Spring | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Lamar Institute of Technology AAS, Beaumont | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $4,290 |
| Lone Star College, Kingwood AAS, Kingwood | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $16,000 |
| Midwestern State University BS, Wichita Falls | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Palo Alto College AAS, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $15,138 |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston AAS, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Tarrant County College, Northeast AAS, Hurst | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $5,032 |
| Temple College AAS, Temple | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $22,041 |
| Texas A&M University, College of Dentistry, Caruth School of Dental Hygiene BS, Dallas | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Texas State Technical College, Harlingen AAS, Harlingen | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $29,729 |
| Texas Woman's University BS, Denton | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Dentistry BS, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Tyler Junior College AAS, Tyler | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Wharton County Junior College AAS, Wharton | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $11,500 to $16,063 |
1 program reports a 100% rate with at least 20 graduates in the period.
By Area
Houston Area (6)
- Houston City College: 100%
- College of the Mainland
- Lone Star College, Kingwood
- Pima Medical Institute, Houston
- The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Dentistry
- Wharton County Junior College
Dallas Area (5)
- Collin College, Central Park
- Concorde Career College, Dallas
- Concorde Career College, Grand Prairie
- Dallas College, El Centro
- Texas A&M University, College of Dentistry, Caruth School of Dental Hygiene
San Antonio Area (3)
Corpus Christi Area (2)
Fort Worth Area (2)
Amarillo Area (1)
- Amarillo College: 93.0%
Austin Area (1)
- Austin Community College: 100%
Beaumont-Port Arthur Area (1)
Bryan-College Station Area (1)
El Paso Area (1)
Killeen-Temple Area (1)
Midland-Odessa Area (1)
Rio Grande Valley Area (1)
Tyler-Longview Area (1)
Wichita Falls Area (1)
How to Read These Numbers
Graduates who passed the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination, as the program publishes it. CODA does not require programs to post a standard set of outcomes, so many Texas programs publish none, and those that do differ in years and detail.
Job placement: graduates employed as dental hygienists, as the program reports it. Costs are each school's own published estimate; programs that only list per-credit tuition show "Not published". How we get our numbers