Dental Hygiene Programs in the San Antonio Area
3 accredited programs train dental hygienists in the San Antonio area. Here is how their graduates do on the NBDHE, how many find jobs, and what each publishes as its cost.
The Short Version
- UT San Antonio, School of Dentistry reports the highest NBDHE rate in the area, 90.0%, against a Texas program median of 96.5%.
- Only Palo Alto College publishes a total cost ($15,138); the others list per-credit tuition or nothing.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
Every Dental Hygiene Program in the Area
Highest NBDHE rate first. Tap a program for its full outcomes, cost breakdown and sources. 2
| Program | NBDHE rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| UT San Antonio, School of Dentistry BS, San Antonio | 90.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Concorde Career College, San Antonio AAS, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Palo Alto College AAS, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | $15,138 |
Jobs and Pay in the San Antonio Area
About 920 dental hygienists work in the San Antonio area. The middle half earn between $84,170 and $102,900 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 1,370 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 21.8% (from 15,550 to 18,950).
Other Career Programs in the San Antonio Area
How to Read These Numbers
Graduates who passed the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination, as the program publishes it. CODA does not require programs to post a standard set of outcomes, so many Texas programs publish none, and those that do differ in years and detail. Job placement: graduates employed as dental hygienists, as the program reports it. All Texas dental hygiene programs
Sources and Dates
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Dental Hygienists (29-1292), May 2025 estimates.
- Commission on Dental Accreditation (American Dental Association) (CODA), checked Nov. 2026.
- UT San Antonio, School of Dentistry: outcomes, Program page states a 90% pass rate for students taking the licensing exam for the first time, with no year, exam name or counts..
- Palo Alto College Dental Hygiene Program Cost Estimates, Cost estimates at in-district rates (updated July 16, 2026, no academic year).
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
- Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or CODA. Our independence policy