UT San Antonio, School of Dentistry Dental Hygiene Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay
A BS program in San Antonio, Two academic years of upper-level coursework. 90.0% of its graduates passed the national dental hygiene board exam.
The Short Version
- Its NBDHE rate (90.0%) is below the Texas program median of 96.5%.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How Graduates Do
CODA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3
Graduates who passed the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination, as the program publishes it. CODA does not require programs to post a standard set of outcomes, so many Texas programs publish none, and those that do differ in years and detail. Job placement: graduates employed as dental hygienists, as the program reports it.
What It Costs
UT San Antonio does not publish a total cost for this program. Tuition figures are in linked PDFs that are not on the program pages Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 13 Texas dental hygiene programs that publish a cost range from $4,290 to $29,729, with a median of $13,670.
Jobs and Pay in the San Antonio Area
About 920 dental hygienists work in the San Antonio area. The middle half earn between $84,170 and $102,900 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 1,370 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 21.8% (from 15,550 to 18,950).
Other Dental Hygiene Programs in the San Antonio Area
Compare all 3 dental hygiene programs in the San Antonio area
| Program | NBDHE rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| UT San Antonio, School of Dentistry (this page) BS, San Antonio | 90.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Concorde Career College, San Antonio AAS, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Palo Alto College AAS, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | $15,138 |
Program Facts
- Credential
- BS
- Length
- Two academic years of upper-level coursework
- Starts
- Fall, starting July 1 (up to 22 seats in San Antonio and 8 at the Laredo regional campus)
- Before you apply
- Dental school prerequisite courses with a C or better; up to 6 hours may be in progress the spring before admission.
- Entrance exam
- None required
- Accreditation
- CODA, Approval without reporting requirements; sponsorship transferred from UT Health San Antonio to UT San Antonio (CODA Summer 2025 actions)
- Leads to
- National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE), a clinical licensing exam and a Texas license
Sources and Dates
- UT San Antonio, School of Dentistry program outcomes page, Program page states a 90% pass rate for students taking the licensing exam for the first time, with no year, exam name or counts..
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Dental Hygienists (29-1292), May 2025 estimates.
- Commission on Dental Accreditation (American Dental Association) (CODA), checked Nov. 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
- Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or CODA. Our independence policy