Texas Medical Lab Programs: Who Passes, Who Gets Hired, and What It Costs
Medical laboratory professionals run the blood, tissue and microbiology tests behind most medical decisions. Technicians (MLT) train in two-year associate degrees; scientists (MLS) need a bachelor's degree or a one-year certificate after one. Both lead to the ASCP certification exam. Below is every NAACLS-accredited program in Texas we could confirm, with the outcomes each one reports. Data checked Nov. 4, 2026.
Every Program, Highest Certification Exam Rate First
Rates are multi-year averages as each program reports them to NAACLS, so small programs are not swung by one class. Tap a program for its cost, job placement and sources.
| Program | certification exam rate | Job placement | Completion | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin State Hospital Certificate, MLS, Austin | 100% | 100% | 100% | $845 |
| Central Texas College AAS, MLT, Killeen | 100% | 100% | 88.0% | Not published |
| El Paso Community College, Rio Grande AAS, MLT, El Paso | 100% | 86.7% | 100% | Not published |
| Houston City College, Coleman AAS, MLT, Houston | 100% | 100% | 100% | Not published |
| Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi BS, MLS, Corpus Christi | 100% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Texas State University BS, MLS, San Marcos | 100% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| United Regional Health Care System Certificate, MLS, Wichita Falls | 100% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Tarleton State University, Fort Worth BS, MLS, Fort Worth | 99.3% | 100% | 98.7% | Not published |
| Austin Community College AAS, MLT, Austin | 97.8% | 97.0% | 78.0% | Not published |
| Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Online Certificate, MLS, Lubbock | 97.0% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| UTMB BS, MLS, Galveston | 94.0% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Lubbock BS, MLS, Lubbock | 93.0% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Grayson College, South AAS, MLT, Van Alstyne | 91.5% | 96.0% | 96.0% | Not published |
| Navarro College AAS, MLT, Corsicana | 91.0% | 100% | 72.0% | $9,730 |
| McLennan Community College AAS, MLT, Waco | 90.0% | Not reported | Not reported | $11,000 |
| Tyler Junior College AAS, MLT, Tyler | 87.0% | 100% | 100% | Not published |
| UT Health San Antonio BS, MLS, San Antonio | 87.0% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| MD Anderson School of Health Professions BS, MLS, Houston | 86.0% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Dallas College, El Centro AAS, MLT, Dallas | 83.9% | 84.7% | 96.0% | $5,940 |
| Tarleton State University, Fort Worth AAS, MLT, Fort Worth | 82.8% | 100% | 100% | Not published |
| Del Mar College, Windward AAS, MLT, Corpus Christi | 77.0% | 85.0% | 94.0% | Not published |
| Amarillo College AAS, MLT, Amarillo | 76.9% | 95.2% | 100% | Not published |
| UTEP BS, MLS, El Paso | 73.1% | 100% | 94.7% | Not published |
| San Jacinto College, Central AAS, MLT, Pasadena | 67.6% | 97.0% | 96.2% | Not published |
| Texas Southmost College AAS, MLT, Brownsville | 64.0% | 100% | 96.7% | Not published |
| Panola College AAS, MLT, Carthage | 54.5% | Not reported | 69.6% | Not published |
| Lone Star College, Tomball AAS, MLT, Tomball | 47.2% | 80.8% | 93.6% | Not published |
| East Texas Baptist University BS, MLS, Marshall | 44.0% | 100% | 100% | Not published |
| Texas Southern University BS, MLS, Houston | 40.0% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Baylor Scott & White Health, Temple and Dallas Certificate, MLS, Temple | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Houston Methodist Certificate, MLS, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Northeast Texas Community College AAS, MLT, Mount Pleasant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $10,922 |
| St. Philip's College AAS, MLT, San Antonio | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| UTRGV BS, MLS, Edinburg | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
1 program reports a 100% rate with at least 20 graduates in the period.
By Area
Houston Area (7)
- Houston City College, Coleman: 100%
- UTMB: 94.0%
- MD Anderson School of Health Professions: 86.0%
- San Jacinto College, Central: 67.6%
- Lone Star College, Tomball: 47.2%
- Texas Southern University: 40.0%
- Houston Methodist
Austin Area (3)
- Austin State Hospital: 100%
- Texas State University: 100%
- Austin Community College: 97.8%
Tyler-Longview Area (3)
- Tyler Junior College: 87.0%
- Panola College: 54.5%
- East Texas Baptist University: 44.0%
Corpus Christi Area (2)
Dallas Area (2)
- Navarro College: 91.0%
- Dallas College, El Centro: 83.9%
El Paso Area (2)
- El Paso Community College, Rio Grande: 100%
- UTEP: 73.1%
Fort Worth Area (2)
Killeen-Temple Area (2)
Lubbock Area (2)
- Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Online: 97.0%
- Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Lubbock: 93.0%
Rio Grande Valley Area (2)
- Texas Southmost College: 64.0%
- UTRGV
San Antonio Area (2)
Amarillo Area (1)
- Amarillo College: 76.9%
Sherman-Denison Area (1)
- Grayson College, South: 91.5%
Texarkana Area (1)
Waco Area (1)
- McLennan Community College: 90.0%
Wichita Falls Area (1)
How to Read These Numbers
Graduates who passed a medical laboratory certification exam (usually the ASCP Board of Certification exam), as the program publishes it for NAACLS. Programs report a three-year figure or yearly rates; where only yearly rates are published we show the newest year rather than averaging them.
Job placement: graduates who found jobs in the field or continued their education, as the program reports it to NAACLS. Costs are each school's own published estimate; programs that only list per-credit tuition show "Not published". How we get our numbers