Houston Methodist Medical Lab Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay
A certificate, MLS program in Houston, 12 months.
We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.
How Graduates Do
NAACLS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2
Graduates who passed a medical laboratory certification exam (usually the ASCP Board of Certification exam), as the program publishes it for NAACLS. Programs report a three-year figure or yearly rates; where only yearly rates are published we show the newest year rather than averaging them. Job placement: graduates who found jobs in the field or continued their education, as the program reports it to NAACLS.
What It Costs
Houston Methodist does not publish a total cost for this program. No tuition or cost items on the program page. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 5 Texas medical lab programs that publish a cost range from $845 to $11,000, with a median of $9,730.
Jobs and Pay in the Houston Area
About 7,410 clinical laboratory technologists and technicians work in the Houston area. The middle half earn between $46,970 and $77,920 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,450 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 15.6% (from 29,740 to 34,380).
Other Medical Lab Programs in the Houston Area
Compare all 7 medical lab programs in the Houston area
| Program | certification exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Houston City College, Coleman AAS, MLT, Houston | 100% | 100% | Not published |
| UTMB BS, MLS, Galveston | 94.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| MD Anderson School of Health Professions BS, MLS, Houston | 86.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| San Jacinto College, Central AAS, MLT, Pasadena | 67.6% | 97.0% | Not published |
| Lone Star College, Tomball AAS, MLT, Tomball | 47.2% | 80.8% | Not published |
| Texas Southern University BS, MLS, Houston | 40.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Houston Methodist (this page) Certificate, MLS, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
Program Facts
- Credential
- Certificate, MLS
- Length
- 12 months
- Schedule
- Hospital-based, in person
- Starts
- February and August (applications due Dec 1)
- Before you apply
- Bachelor's degree (or affiliate coursework) with 16 hours biology including microbiology and immunology, 16 hours chemistry, 3 hours math and a 2.75 GPA.
- Entrance exam
- None stated
- Accreditation
- NAACLS, Accredited (NAACLS; dates not shown)
- Leads to
- ASCP Board of Certification (BOC) exam, MLT or MLS
Sources and Dates
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians (29-2010), May 2025 estimates.
- National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS), checked Nov. 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
- Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or NAACLS. Our independence policy