UTMB Medical Lab Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay
A BS, MLS program in Galveston, About 2 years after 60 prerequisite hours. 94.0% of its graduates passed the certification exam in 2026.
The Short Version
- Its certification exam rate (94.0%) is above the Texas program median of 90.0%.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How Graduates Do
NAACLS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3
| Year | Certification pass rate |
|---|---|
| 2026 | 94.0% |
| 2025 | 88.0% |
| 2024 | 89.0% |
Graduates who passed a medical laboratory certification exam (usually the ASCP Board of Certification exam), as the program publishes it for NAACLS. Programs report a three-year figure or yearly rates; where only yearly rates are published we show the newest year rather than averaging them. Job placement: graduates who found jobs in the field or continued their education, as the program reports it to NAACLS.
What It Costs
UTMB does not publish a total cost for this program. Program cost page points to the enrollment services fee sheet; no program total. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 5 Texas medical lab programs that publish a cost range from $845 to $11,000, with a median of $9,730.
Jobs and Pay in the Houston Area
About 7,410 clinical laboratory technologists and technicians work in the Houston area. The middle half earn between $46,970 and $77,920 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,450 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 15.6% (from 29,740 to 34,380).
Other Medical Lab Programs in the Houston Area
Compare all 7 medical lab programs in the Houston area
| Program | certification exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Houston City College, Coleman AAS, MLT, Houston | 100% | 100% | Not published |
| UTMB (this page) BS, MLS, Galveston | 94.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| MD Anderson School of Health Professions BS, MLS, Houston | 86.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| San Jacinto College, Central AAS, MLT, Pasadena | 67.6% | 97.0% | Not published |
| Lone Star College, Tomball AAS, MLT, Tomball | 47.2% | 80.8% | Not published |
| Texas Southern University BS, MLS, Houston | 40.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Houston Methodist Certificate, MLS, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
Program Facts
- Credential
- BS, MLS
- Length
- About 2 years after 60 prerequisite hours
- Schedule
- On campus, or distance for working MLTs (labs on campus)
- Starts
- Fall for on-campus students (apply by June 20); distance MLT students any semester
- Before you apply
- 60 semester credit hours of prerequisites with a 2.0 overall and science GPA; 3+2, LEAP and on-campus tracks.
- Entrance exam
- None; transcripts, references and a faculty interview
- Accreditation
- NAACLS, Accredited (NAACLS through Oct 31, 2027; self-study due Oct 1, 2026)
- Leads to
- ASCP Board of Certification (BOC) exam, MLT or MLS
Sources and Dates
- UTMB program outcomes page, BSMLS Academics and Accreditation page; figures cover the BS and MS in MLS together. Graduation and placement 100% each year..
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians (29-2010), May 2025 estimates.
- National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS), checked Nov. 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
- Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or NAACLS. Our independence policy