Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

MD Anderson School of Health Professions Medical Lab Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay

A BS, MLS program in Houston, 2 years (upper-division BS). 86.0% of its graduates passed the certification exam in 2025.

Medical laboratory science · BS, MLS · Houston, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Total cost
Certification pass rate
86.0%
2025 1
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$61,350
Median, Houston 2

The Short Version

  • Its certification exam rate (86.0%) is below the Texas program median of 90.0%.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How Graduates Do

NAACLS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3

86.0%
ASCP BOC pass rate, 2025
?
Job placement
90.0%
Median of 29 Texas programs
YearCertification pass rate
202586.0%
2024100%
2023100%

Graduates who passed a medical laboratory certification exam (usually the ASCP Board of Certification exam), as the program publishes it for NAACLS. Programs report a three-year figure or yearly rates; where only yearly rates are published we show the newest year rather than averaging them. Job placement: graduates who found jobs in the field or continued their education, as the program reports it to NAACLS.

What It Costs

MD Anderson School of Health Professions does not publish a total cost for this program. No program cost page is linked. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 5 Texas medical lab programs that publish a cost range from $845 to $11,000, with a median of $9,730.

Jobs and Pay in the Houston Area

$61,350
Median pay, Houston area 4
$46,970 to $77,920
What the middle half earns
7,410
Clinical laboratory technologists and technicians employed, Houston area
2,450
Openings a year in Texas, 2024 to 2034 5

About 7,410 clinical laboratory technologists and technicians work in the Houston area. The middle half earn between $46,970 and $77,920 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,450 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 15.6% (from 29,740 to 34,380).

Other Medical Lab Programs in the Houston Area

Compare all 7 medical lab programs in the Houston area

Programcertification exam rateJob placementCost
Houston City College, Coleman
AAS, MLT, Houston
100%100%Not published
UTMB
BS, MLS, Galveston
94.0%Not reportedNot published
MD Anderson School of Health Professions (this page)
BS, MLS, Houston
86.0%Not reportedNot published
San Jacinto College, Central
AAS, MLT, Pasadena
67.6%97.0%Not published
Lone Star College, Tomball
AAS, MLT, Tomball
47.2%80.8%Not published
Texas Southern University
BS, MLS, Houston
40.0%Not reportedNot published
Houston Methodist
Certificate, MLS, Houston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

Program Facts

Credential
BS, MLS
Length
2 years (upper-division BS)
Schedule
In person, Texas Medical Center
Before you apply
Listed in a separate prerequisites and FAQ PDF for the 2027 program.
Entrance exam
None stated
Accreditation
NAACLS, Accredited (NAACLS; dates not shown)
Leads to
ASCP Board of Certification (BOC) exam, MLT or MLS
Visit MD Anderson School of Health Professions's program page ↗

Sources and Dates

  1. MD Anderson School of Health Professions program outcomes page, Program page table 2008 to 2025, percentages only; graduation and placement 100% in 2023 to 2025..
  2. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians (29-2010), May 2025 estimates.
  3. National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS), checked Nov. 2026.
  4. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
  5. Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or NAACLS. Our independence policy