Texas Vet Tech Programs: Who Passes, Who Gets Hired, and What It Costs
Veterinary technicians are the nurses of animal care: they assist in surgery, run lab tests, take X-rays and give anesthesia under a veterinarian. Texas programs are mostly two-year associate degrees and lead to the VTNE and Texas licensure as a Licensed Veterinary Technician. Below is every AVMA CVTEA-accredited program in Texas we could confirm, with the outcomes each one reports. Data checked Nov. 4, 2026.
Every Program, Highest VTNE Rate First
Rates are multi-year averages as each program reports them to AVMA CVTEA, so small programs are not swung by one class. Tap a program for its cost, job placement and sources.
| Program | VTNE rate | Job placement | Completion | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Community College, Elgin AAS, Elgin | 97.0% | 100% | 43.0% | Not published |
| Palo Alto College AAS, San Antonio | 89.2% | Not reported | Not reported | $11,830 |
| Collin College, Wylie AAS, Wylie | 88.9% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Tyler Junior College AAS, Tyler | 75.9% | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
| Lone Star College, Tomball AAS, Tomball | 73.2% | 71.0% | 47.0% | Not published |
| Blinn College, Bryan AAS, Bryan | 73.0% | 57.0% | 78.0% | $15,000 |
| Texas A&M University-Kingsville BS, Kingsville | 67.9% | 90.0% | 100% | Not published |
| Dallas College, Cedar Valley AAS, Lancaster | 65.4% | 95.0% | 67.0% | $5,940 |
| Pima Medical Institute, El Paso AAS, El Paso | 61.2% | 73.1% | 59.0% | $40,012 |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston AAS, Houston | 56.3% | 96.8% | 78.0% | $40,000 |
| Weatherford College AAS, Weatherford | 50.0% | Not reported | Not reported | $12,073 |
| Pima Medical Institute, San Antonio AAS, San Antonio | 44.0% | 83.9% | 94.0% | $40,000 |
| McLennan Community College AAS, Waco | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
By Area
Dallas Area (2)
- Collin College, Wylie: 88.9%
- Dallas College, Cedar Valley: 65.4%
Houston Area (2)
San Antonio Area (2)
- Palo Alto College: 89.2%
- Pima Medical Institute, San Antonio: 44.0%
Austin Area (1)
Bryan-College Station Area (1)
- Blinn College, Bryan: 73.0%
Corpus Christi Area (1)
El Paso Area (1)
Fort Worth Area (1)
- Weatherford College: 50.0%
Tyler-Longview Area (1)
- Tyler Junior College: 75.9%
Waco Area (1)
How to Read These Numbers
First-time candidates who passed the Veterinary Technician National Exam over the program's most recent three-year period. The AVMA requires every accredited program to publish this rate and the number of candidates.
Job placement: graduates employed as veterinary technicians, as the program reports it. Costs are each school's own published estimate; programs that only list per-credit tuition show "Not published". How we get our numbers