Lone Star College, Tomball Vet Tech Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay
An AAS program in Tomball, Two-year program. 73.2% of its graduates passed the VTNE on the first try over Jan. 1, 2023 to Dec. 31, 2025.
The Short Version
- Its VTNE rate (73.2%) is above the Texas program median of 70.4%.
- 71.0% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by AVMA CVTEA's measure.
- 47.0% of students who started finished the program.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How Graduates Do
AVMA CVTEA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3
First-time candidates who passed the Veterinary Technician National Exam over the program's most recent three-year period. The AVMA requires every accredited program to publish this rate and the number of candidates. Job placement: graduates employed as veterinary technicians, as the program reports it.
What It Costs
Lone Star College does not publish a total cost for this program. The program page lists cost categories but no amounts. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 7 Texas vet tech programs that publish a cost range from $5,940 to $40,012, with a median of $15,000.
Jobs and Pay in the Houston Area
About 3,570 veterinary technicians work in the Houston area. The middle half earn between $36,670 and $47,170 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,060 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 27.9% (from 15,330 to 19,600).
Other Vet Tech Programs in the Houston Area
Compare all 3 vet tech programs in the Houston area
| Program | VTNE rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lone Star College, Tomball (this page) AAS, Tomball | 73.2% | 71.0% | Not published |
| Pima Medical Institute, Houston AAS, Houston | 56.3% | 96.8% | $40,000 |
| The Vet Tech Institute of Houston AAS, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
After You Graduate: Getting to Work in Texas
Texas requires a Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT) license from the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners. Applicants must graduate from an AVMA-accredited program, pass the VTNE and the Texas State Board Exam on veterinary law, and submit fingerprints.
| Step | Fee |
|---|---|
| Graduate from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technology program and pass the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) through AAVSB.6 | $375 |
| Apply to the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners through its Self-Service Licensing Portal.7 | $65 |
| Get fingerprinted through IdentoGo; fingerprints are required before licensure.8 | Not published |
| Once approved, buy and pass the online Texas State Board Exam (SBE) on Texas veterinary law and rules, in one sitting within 10 days of purchase.9 | Not published |
Typical fees to start working: $440. Counts the VTNE ($375) and the Board application fee ($65). The State Board Exam purchase fee and the IdentoGo fingerprint fee are extra; their amounts are not published on the Board's pages. LVT licenses renew every year by the last day of your birth month ($80 for a regular license) with 10 hours of continuing education each year. Full guide: how to become a veterinary technician in Texas
Program Facts
- Credential
- AAS
- Length
- Two-year program
- Schedule
- In person at LSC-Tomball
- Starts
- Fall (36 students admitted once a year; applications open in January)
- Before you apply
- Minimum 2.50 GPA, completed general education courses, college math and BIOL 1406 within 5 years with a C or better, an essay, observation hours and CVA certification.
- Entrance exam
- College-level scores in English, reading and math (placement testing); no program-specific exam named
- Accreditation
- AVMA CVTEA, Full accreditation (AVMA CVTEA)
- Leads to
- Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) and Texas licensure as an LVT
Sources and Dates
- Lone Star College, Tomball program outcomes page, 50 first-time candidates and a 73.2% three-year pass rate, Jan. 1, 2023 to Dec. 31, 2025..
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Veterinary Technologists and Technicians (29-2056), May 2025 estimates.
- American Veterinary Medical Association Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (AVMA CVTEA), checked Nov. 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
- Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
- AAVSB Applying to Take the VTNE, Page last modified Oct 23, 2026.
- Texas Veterinary License Fees, No effective date on page; checked Nov 2026.
- TBVME Licensing Information, checked Nov 2026.
- TBVME State Board Exam (SBE), checked Nov 2026.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or AVMA CVTEA. Our independence policy