Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

The Vet Tech Institute of Houston Vet Tech Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay

An AAS program in Houston.

Veterinary technology · AAS · Houston, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.

Total cost
VTNE pass rate
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$44,110
Median, Houston 1

How Graduates Do

AVMA CVTEA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2

?
VTNE rate
?
Job placement
70.4%
Median of 12 Texas programs

First-time candidates who passed the Veterinary Technician National Exam over the program's most recent three-year period. The AVMA requires every accredited program to publish this rate and the number of candidates. Job placement: graduates employed as veterinary technicians, as the program reports it.

What It Costs

The Vet Tech Institute of Houston does not publish a total cost for this program. Not checked yet. Ask the program for its cost sheet.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 7 Texas vet tech programs that publish a cost range from $5,940 to $40,012, with a median of $15,000.

Jobs and Pay in the Houston Area

$44,110
Median pay, Houston area 3
$36,670 to $47,170
What the middle half earns
3,570
Veterinary technicians employed, Houston area
2,060
Openings a year in Texas, 2024 to 2034 4

About 3,570 veterinary technicians work in the Houston area. The middle half earn between $36,670 and $47,170 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,060 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 27.9% (from 15,330 to 19,600).

Other Vet Tech Programs in the Houston Area

Compare all 3 vet tech programs in the Houston area

ProgramVTNE rateJob placementCost
Lone Star College, Tomball
AAS, Tomball
73.2%71.0%Not published
Pima Medical Institute, Houston
AAS, Houston
56.3%96.8%$40,000
The Vet Tech Institute of Houston (this page)
AAS, Houston
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After You Graduate: Getting to Work in Texas

Texas requires a Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT) license from the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners. Applicants must graduate from an AVMA-accredited program, pass the VTNE and the Texas State Board Exam on veterinary law, and submit fingerprints.

StepFee
Graduate from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technology program and pass the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) through AAVSB.5$375
Apply to the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners through its Self-Service Licensing Portal.6$65
Get fingerprinted through IdentoGo; fingerprints are required before licensure.7Not published
Once approved, buy and pass the online Texas State Board Exam (SBE) on Texas veterinary law and rules, in one sitting within 10 days of purchase.8Not published

Typical fees to start working: $440. Counts the VTNE ($375) and the Board application fee ($65). The State Board Exam purchase fee and the IdentoGo fingerprint fee are extra; their amounts are not published on the Board's pages. LVT licenses renew every year by the last day of your birth month ($80 for a regular license) with 10 hours of continuing education each year. Full guide: how to become a veterinary technician in Texas

Program Facts

Credential
AAS
Accreditation
AVMA CVTEA, Full accreditation (AVMA CVTEA)
Leads to
Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) and Texas licensure as an LVT

Sources and Dates

  1. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Veterinary Technologists and Technicians (29-2056), May 2025 estimates.
  2. American Veterinary Medical Association Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (AVMA CVTEA), checked Nov. 2026.
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
  5. AAVSB Applying to Take the VTNE, Page last modified Oct 23, 2026.
  6. Texas Veterinary License Fees, No effective date on page; checked Nov 2026.
  7. TBVME Licensing Information, checked Nov 2026.
  8. TBVME State Board Exam (SBE), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or AVMA CVTEA. Our independence policy