Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Collin College, Wylie Vet Tech Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay

An AAS program in Wylie, Five semesters full time or nine semesters part time, including summers; 60 credit hours. 88.9% of its graduates passed the VTNE on the first try over Jan. 1, 2022 to Dec. 31, 2024.

Veterinary technology · AAS · Wylie, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

Total cost
VTNE pass rate
88.9%
Jan. 1, 2022 to Dec. 31, 2024 1
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$44,360
Median, Dallas 2

The Short Version

  • Its VTNE rate (88.9%) is above the Texas program median of 70.4%.

These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.

How Graduates Do

AVMA CVTEA requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3

88.9%
VTNE three-year pass rate, first-time candidates, Jan. 1, 2022 to Dec. 31, 2024
?
Job placement
70.4%
Median of 12 Texas programs

First-time candidates who passed the Veterinary Technician National Exam over the program's most recent three-year period. The AVMA requires every accredited program to publish this rate and the number of candidates. Job placement: graduates employed as veterinary technicians, as the program reports it.

What It Costs

Collin College does not publish a total cost for this program. The program links a cost of attendance document, but its address was not shown and the only copy found was on a staging site, not the live school site. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 7 Texas vet tech programs that publish a cost range from $5,940 to $40,012, with a median of $15,000.

Jobs and Pay in the Dallas Area

$44,360
Median pay, Dallas area 4
$36,450 to $46,820
What the middle half earns
4,570
Veterinary technicians employed, Dallas area
2,060
Openings a year in Texas, 2024 to 2034 5

About 4,570 veterinary technicians work in the Dallas area. The middle half earn between $36,450 and $46,820 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,060 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 27.9% (from 15,330 to 19,600).

Other Vet Tech Programs in the Dallas Area

Compare all 3 vet tech programs in the Dallas area

ProgramVTNE rateJob placementCost
Collin College, Wylie (this page)
AAS, Wylie
88.9%Not reportedNot published
Dallas College, Cedar Valley
AAS, Lancaster
65.4%95.0%$5,940
Texas A&M University-Commerce
Bachelor of Veterinary Biomedical Technology, Commerce
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After You Graduate: Getting to Work in Texas

Texas requires a Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT) license from the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners. Applicants must graduate from an AVMA-accredited program, pass the VTNE and the Texas State Board Exam on veterinary law, and submit fingerprints.

StepFee
Graduate from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technology program and pass the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) through AAVSB.6$375
Apply to the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners through its Self-Service Licensing Portal.7$65
Get fingerprinted through IdentoGo; fingerprints are required before licensure.8Not published
Once approved, buy and pass the online Texas State Board Exam (SBE) on Texas veterinary law and rules, in one sitting within 10 days of purchase.9Not published

Typical fees to start working: $440. Counts the VTNE ($375) and the Board application fee ($65). The State Board Exam purchase fee and the IdentoGo fingerprint fee are extra; their amounts are not published on the Board's pages. LVT licenses renew every year by the last day of your birth month ($80 for a regular license) with 10 hours of continuing education each year. Full guide: how to become a veterinary technician in Texas

Program Facts

Credential
AAS
Length
Five semesters full time or nine semesters part time, including summers; 60 credit hours
Schedule
In person at the Wylie Campus; full-time and part-time cohorts
Starts
Fall only (16 full-time and 8 part-time seats per year)
Before you apply
BIOL 1406, ENGL 1301 and MATH 1314 with a C or better, plus a required information session.
Entrance exam
An unnamed entrance exam can improve admission chances; none is required by name
Accreditation
AVMA CVTEA, Initial accreditation (AVMA CVTEA)
Leads to
Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) and Texas licensure as an LVT
Visit Collin College's program page ↗

Sources and Dates

  1. Collin College, Wylie program outcomes page, Program page shows 18 first-time candidates and an 88.9% three-year pass rate for Jan. 1, 2022 to Dec. 31, 2024. No newer period is posted..
  2. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Veterinary Technologists and Technicians (29-2056), May 2025 estimates.
  3. American Veterinary Medical Association Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (AVMA CVTEA), checked Nov. 2026.
  4. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
  5. Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
  6. AAVSB Applying to Take the VTNE, Page last modified Oct 23, 2026.
  7. Texas Veterinary License Fees, No effective date on page; checked Nov 2026.
  8. TBVME Licensing Information, checked Nov 2026.
  9. TBVME State Board Exam (SBE), checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or AVMA CVTEA. Our independence policy