Lone Star College, Tomball Medical Lab Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay
An AAS, MLT program in Tomball, 2 years. 17 of its 36 graduates passed the certification exam over 2024 to 2025.
The Short Version
- Its certification exam rate (47.2%) is below the Texas program median of 90.0%.
- 80.8% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by NAACLS's measure.
- 93.6% of students who started finished the program.
- That is below the 75% three-year certification pass rate NAACLS expects of accredited programs.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How Graduates Do
NAACLS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3
| Year | Passed | Took the exam | Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 9 | 16 | 56.3% |
| 2024 | 8 | 20 | 40.0% |
Graduates who passed a medical laboratory certification exam (usually the ASCP Board of Certification exam), as the program publishes it for NAACLS. Programs report a three-year figure or yearly rates; where only yearly rates are published we show the newest year rather than averaging them. Job placement: graduates who found jobs in the field or continued their education, as the program reports it to NAACLS.
What It Costs
Lone Star College does not publish a total cost for this program. Only the general tuition page is linked; the MLT cost PDF was disallowed by robots.txt in an earlier batch and was not tried. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 5 Texas medical lab programs that publish a cost range from $845 to $11,000, with a median of $9,730.
Jobs and Pay in the Houston Area
About 7,410 clinical laboratory technologists and technicians work in the Houston area. The middle half earn between $46,970 and $77,920 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,450 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 15.6% (from 29,740 to 34,380).
Other Medical Lab Programs in the Houston Area
Compare all 7 medical lab programs in the Houston area
| Program | certification exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Houston City College, Coleman AAS, MLT, Houston | 100% | 100% | Not published |
| UTMB BS, MLS, Galveston | 94.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| MD Anderson School of Health Professions BS, MLS, Houston | 86.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| San Jacinto College, Central AAS, MLT, Pasadena | 67.6% | 97.0% | Not published |
| Lone Star College, Tomball (this page) AAS, MLT, Tomball | 47.2% | 80.8% | Not published |
| Texas Southern University BS, MLS, Houston | 40.0% | Not reported | Not published |
| Houston Methodist Certificate, MLS, Houston | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
Program Facts
- Credential
- AAS, MLT
- Length
- 2 years
- Schedule
- In person with clinical rotations
- Starts
- Fall
- Before you apply
- ENGL 1301, BIOL 2404, MATH 1342, MLAB 1101 and CHEM 1405 with a C or better, and a 2.5 GPA.
- Entrance exam
- None stated for the program
- Accreditation
- NAACLS, Accredited (NAACLS; accreditation end date Oct 31, 2030)
- Leads to
- ASCP Board of Certification (BOC) exam, MLT or MLS
Sources and Dates
- Lone Star College, Tomball program outcomes page, Outcomes page, undated; values update until August of the following year. Page also states a 58.25% three-year (2023 to 2025) average though 2023 has no data. Graduation 22 of 23 (2024) and 22 of 24 (2025); placement 10 of 14 and 11 of 12 known graduates (unknowns excluded), combined by us..
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians (29-2010), May 2025 estimates.
- National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS), checked Nov. 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
- Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or NAACLS. Our independence policy