Independent program data. Not affiliated with any school.Texas program data checked Nov. 4, 2026 · How we source every number

Baylor Scott &Amp; White Health, Temple and Dallas Medical Lab Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay

A certificate, MLS program in Temple, 1 year.

Medical laboratory science · Certificate, MLS · Temple, Texas · Updated Nov. 4, 2026

We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.

Total cost
Certification pass rate
Job placement
Payback time
Local wage
$61,370
Median, Killeen-Temple 1

How Graduates Do

NAACLS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2

?
certification exam rate
?
Job placement
88.5%
Median of 28 Texas programs

Graduates who passed a medical laboratory certification exam (usually the ASCP Board of Certification exam), as the program publishes it for NAACLS. Programs report a three-year figure or yearly rates; where only yearly rates are published we show the newest year rather than averaging them. Job placement: graduates who found jobs in the field or continued their education, as the program reports it to NAACLS.

What It Costs

Baylor Scott & White Health does not publish a total cost for this program. Page lists a $750 administrative fee and free books but no tuition statement, so no full program cost. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.

For comparison only, not this program's price: the 5 Texas medical lab programs that publish a cost range from $845 to $11,000, with a median of $9,730.

Jobs and Pay in the Killeen-Temple Area

$61,370
Median pay, Killeen-Temple area 3
$48,880 to $78,680
What the middle half earns
440
Clinical laboratory technologists and technicians employed, Killeen-Temple area
2,450
Openings a year in Texas, 2024 to 2034 4

About 440 clinical laboratory technologists and technicians work in the Killeen-Temple area. The middle half earn between $48,880 and $78,680 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,450 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 15.6% (from 29,740 to 34,380).

Other Medical Lab Programs in the Killeen-Temple Area

Compare all 2 medical lab programs in the Killeen-Temple area

Programcertification exam rateJob placementCost
Central Texas College
AAS, MLT, Killeen
100%100%Not published
Baylor Scott & White Health, Temple and Dallas (this page)
Certificate, MLS, Temple
Not reportedNot reportedNot published

After You Graduate: Getting to Work in Texas

Texas does not license medical laboratory technicians or scientists, so there is no state application. Employers generally expect national certification, most often from the ASCP Board of Certification (MLT for associate graduates, MLS for bachelor's graduates), with AMT certification as an alternative.

StepFee
Graduate from a NAACLS- or ABHES-accredited MLT program (associate degree) within the last 5 years and pass the MLT(ASCP) exam.5$235
Alternative: bachelor's graduates of a NAACLS-accredited MLS program take the MLS(ASCP) exam instead.6$260not counted
Alternative: take the AMT Medical Laboratory Technician (MLT) exam instead of ASCP.7$220not counted
Alternative: take the AMT Medical Laboratory Scientist (MLS) exam, which covers the role AMT once called Medical Technologist (MT).8$245not counted

Typical fees to start working: $235. Counts only the MLT(ASCP) exam ($235) for associate graduates. Bachelor's graduates pay $260 for MLS(ASCP) instead, and AMT exams ($220 MLT, $245 MLS) are alternatives; Texas charges no state fee. ASCP MLT and MLS credentials renew every three years with 36 CMP points and a $110 fee; AMT requires a $110 annual fee (rising $10 from Feb 1, 2027) and 45 points every three years. Full guide: how to become a medical lab technician or scientist in Texas

Program Facts

Credential
Certificate, MLS
Length
1 year
Schedule
Hospital-based, in person (BSW Medical Center Temple and Baylor University Medical Center Dallas)
Starts
Late August (apply by Dec 1; up to 10 students per site)
Before you apply
Bachelor's degree (or one conferred before start), 2.75 overall and 2.5 science GPA, required science courses, background check and drug screen.
Entrance exam
None stated
Accreditation
NAACLS, Accredited (NAACLS; dates not shown)
Leads to
ASCP Board of Certification (BOC) exam, MLT or MLS
Visit Baylor Scott & White Health's program page ↗

Sources and Dates

  1. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians (29-2010), May 2025 estimates.
  2. National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS), checked Nov. 2026.
  3. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
  4. Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
  5. ASCP BOC MLT - Medical Laboratory Technician, checked Nov 2026.
  6. ASCP BOC MLS - Medical Laboratory Scientist, checked Nov 2026.
  7. AMT Medical Laboratory Technician (MLT), checked Nov 2026.
  8. AMT Get Certified, checked Nov 2026.

Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or NAACLS. Our independence policy