UTRGV Medical Lab Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay
A BS, MLS program in Edinburg, 123 semester hours (4-year bachelor's).
We are still collecting data for this program. This page will be listed in search once it has published outcomes and a cost or program details.
How Graduates Do
NAACLS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 2
Graduates who passed a medical laboratory certification exam (usually the ASCP Board of Certification exam), as the program publishes it for NAACLS. Programs report a three-year figure or yearly rates; where only yearly rates are published we show the newest year rather than averaging them. Job placement: graduates who found jobs in the field or continued their education, as the program reports it to NAACLS.
What It Costs
UTRGV does not publish a total cost for this program. No program cost found. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 5 Texas medical lab programs that publish a cost range from $845 to $11,000, with a median of $9,730.
Jobs and Pay in the Rio Grande Valley Area
About 830 clinical laboratory technologists and technicians work in the Rio Grande Valley area. The middle half earn between $36,680 and $88,300 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,450 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 15.6% (from 29,740 to 34,380).
Other Medical Lab Programs in the Rio Grande Valley Area
Compare all 2 medical lab programs in the Rio Grande Valley area
| Program | certification exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Texas Southmost College AAS, MLT, Brownsville | 64.0% | 100% | Not published |
| UTRGV (this page) BS, MLS, Edinburg | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
Program Facts
- Credential
- BS, MLS
- Length
- 123 semester hours (4-year bachelor's)
- Starts
- Fall (applications due May 31)
- Before you apply
- Non-MLS coursework done before the professional phase, 2.0 overall and science GPA, three references and a background check.
- Entrance exam
- None stated
- Accreditation
- NAACLS, Accredited (NAACLS award Apr 21, 2022; accreditation ends Oct 31, 2027)
- Leads to
- ASCP Board of Certification (BOC) exam, MLT or MLS
Sources and Dates
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians (29-2010), May 2025 estimates.
- National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS), checked Nov. 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
- Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or NAACLS. Our independence policy