Texas Southmost College Medical Lab Program: Pass Rate, Jobs and Local Pay
An AAS, MLT program in Brownsville, 60 credit hours, about 21 months. 16 of its 25 graduates passed the certification exam over 2023 to 2025.
The Short Version
- Its certification exam rate (64.0%) is below the Texas program median of 90.0%.
- 100% of graduates looking for work in the field found a job, by NAACLS's measure.
- 96.7% of students who started finished the program.
- That is below the 75% three-year certification pass rate NAACLS expects of accredited programs.
These lines are generated from the numbers on this page and change when the data does.
How Graduates Do
NAACLS requires every accredited program to publish the same outcome measures, so they can be compared program to program. 3
| Year | Passed | Took the exam | Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 7 | 9 | 77.8% |
| 2024 | 4 | 7 | 57.1% |
| 2023 | 5 | 9 | 55.6% |
Graduates who passed a medical laboratory certification exam (usually the ASCP Board of Certification exam), as the program publishes it for NAACLS. Programs report a three-year figure or yearly rates; where only yearly rates are published we show the newest year rather than averaging them. Job placement: graduates who found jobs in the field or continued their education, as the program reports it to NAACLS.
What It Costs
Texas Southmost College does not publish a total cost for this program. The 2025-2026 program details sheet lists no costs. Ask the program for its cost sheet; contact details are on its page.
For comparison only, not this program's price: the 5 Texas medical lab programs that publish a cost range from $845 to $11,000, with a median of $9,730.
Jobs and Pay in the Rio Grande Valley Area
About 830 clinical laboratory technologists and technicians work in the Rio Grande Valley area. The middle half earn between $36,680 and $88,300 a year; new graduates usually start toward the lower end. Texas expects about 2,450 openings a year statewide through 2034, from new positions, retirements and people changing jobs, with the number of jobs growing 15.6% (from 29,740 to 34,380).
Other Medical Lab Programs in the Rio Grande Valley Area
Compare all 2 medical lab programs in the Rio Grande Valley area
| Program | certification exam rate | Job placement | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Texas Southmost College (this page) AAS, MLT, Brownsville | 64.0% | 100% | Not published |
| UTRGV BS, MLS, Edinburg | Not reported | Not reported | Not published |
Program Facts
- Credential
- AAS, MLT
- Length
- 60 credit hours, about 21 months
- Starts
- Applications Sep 1 to the second Friday in July
- Before you apply
- BIOL 2301, MATH 1342 or higher and ENGL 1301; chemistry and microbiology preferred; two references and a lab observation.
- Entrance exam
- ACT (English, math, reading); waived with a bachelor's degree
- Accreditation
- NAACLS, Accredited (NAACLS; dates not shown)
- Leads to
- ASCP Board of Certification (BOC) exam, MLT or MLS
Sources and Dates
- Texas Southmost College program outcomes page, TSC 2025 Program Outcomes PDF: 2025 data and 3-year total current to March 11, 2025. Graduation 100%, 100%, 90%..
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians (29-2010), May 2025 estimates.
- National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS), checked Nov. 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas and metro areas (employment and wage percentiles), May 2025 estimates.
- Texas Workforce Commission, long-term occupational projections, 2024 to 2034.
Every number was checked against its source on Nov. 4, 2026. Spot an error? Report it. Program Outcomes is independent and not affiliated with any school or NAACLS. Our independence policy